Legislative Research Librarians Staff Section

of the National Conference of State Legislatures


2010 Legislative Staff Achievement Award Nominations

Deadline: Friday, June 3, 2011

It's time to recognize the outstanding service provided by legislative libraries and librarians throughout the states. We need your help in identifying candidates for the annual LRL awards.

Please send us the name of a person or institution - it can be yourself or your library–using the criteria listed below as a guide, along with a description of specific accomplishments and LRL involvement.

The nominating committee includes Debbie Tavenner (OH) and Nan Bowers (NV) and is chaired by Anne Rottmann (MO). Email or fax your nomination by Friday, June 3, 2011 to Jeanne Mejeur or (303) 856-2543. While there is no monetary award, it is a privilege to be recognized and listed as exceptional representatives of our profession.
The award will be presented at the NCSL Legislative Summit in San Antonio, Texas, August 8-11, 2011. Many of you are the only legislative librarian in your state, and you provide tremendous services. There may be no other LRL member that knows enough about your job to nominate you–so go ahead and write up your successes. Isn't it about time you got some recognition from your peers?
Don't put this off too long–don't wait until the deadline. Think about it and send a nomination to a member of the committee now, or by June 3. Criteria is as follows:


  • Provided outstanding support to the state legislature or legislative institution
  • Provided outstanding support to NCSL or the LRL Staff Section
  • Enhanced the profession of special librarianship within the legislative context
  • Demonstrated innovative approaches to the field of legislative librarianship
  • Made a major creative contribution to enhance legislative library services in one or more of the following areas:
    • organization of information
    • integration of the library into the legislative process
    • excellent research products
    • publicity
    • excellence in reference services
    • managerial expertise
    • information technology
    • others



  • Provided outstanding support or assistance to NCSL or the LRL Staff Section
  • Maintained a professional, qualified staff
  • Actively participated in professional library associations
  • Contributed significantly to major developments in the field of legislative librarianship
  • Demonstrated creativity in several of the following areas:
    • maintaining a collection that meets legislative needs
    • orienting new patrons to library services
    • targeting services to meet legislative needs
    • integrating new technologies into legislative services
    • alerting patrons to information resources
    • other
Past recipients can be viewed at the Legislative Research Librarians' Award Page.