LRL Awards Overview

Notable Document Awards

2021 Nominations are Closed
The Notable Documents Awards are presented annually by the Legislative Research Librarians (LRL) staff section to formally recognize excellence in state or legislative documents and publications that explore topics of interest to legislators and staff and present substantive material in an outstanding format. The LRL Chair appoints a Notable Document Awards committee chair each Spring. The chair selects a committee of three to four members to assist in evaluating nominated documents. More information about the award, submission and selection process are available on the NDA criteria page.

Legislative Staff Achievement Award

2021 Nominations are Closed
The Legislative Staff Achievement Award (LSAA) is awarded annually to outstanding legislative staff.  The LSAA was established in 1997 by the Legislative Staff Coordinating Committee to provide each of the NCSL staff sections and the staff networks with the opportunity to recognize from among their membership up to two legislative staff or agencies who have made outstanding contributions to their legislatures and contributed to the activities of their staff section. In addition to the staff section honorees, the NCSL Staff Chair may select up to two additional award recipients.

All members of LRL and legislative libraries are eligible for this award. Each Spring, the LRL Chair appoints a chair of the Nominating Committee, generally a past recipient of the award. Nominations may be submitted by the nominee or other members of the staff section. More information about the award and selection process are available on the LSAA criteria page.