Supreme Court Elections Cases

8/11/2021

webinar graphic

Thursday, Sept. 9, 2021 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

This webinar will provide a deep dive into two recently decided U.S. Supreme Court elections cases. In Brnovich v. Democratic National Committee the Supreme Court upheld two Arizona voting requirements which the DNC argued had a disparate impact on non-white voters in violation of Section 2 of the Voting Rights Act. Importantly, the court applied a number of factors which will apply in future cases. Americans for Prosperity Foundation v. Bonta isn’t obviously an elections case. The court held California violated the First Amendment by requiring charitable organizations to disclose their major donors to the state attorney general. In dissent, Justice Sonia Sotomayor wrote the court’s decision “marks reporting and disclosure requirements with a bull’s-eye.” Discuss what these decisions mean for state legislatures with Jessica Ring Amunson, Jenner & Block, and Erin Murphy, Kirkland & Ellis. Susan Parnas Frederick, NCSL, will discuss proposed federal legislation related to voting rights.

REGISTER HERE

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Moderator:
  • Lisa Soronen,Executive Director,State & Local Legal Center
Speakers:
  • Jessica Ring Amunson, partner, Jenner & Block
  • Erin Murphy, partner - Litigation, Kirkland & Ellis
  • Susan Parnas Frederick, senior federal affairs counsel, NCSL

This webinar is sponsored by the  - Research, Editorial, Legal and Committee Staff (RELACS) association - NCSL's Law, Criminal Justice and Public Safety Committee - NCSL's Elections and Redistricting Program

Handout

State & Local Legal Center: Supreme Court Elections Cases 2020-21