Webinar: The Power of Pivot Tables

Webinar

  • Title:
    The Power of Pivot Tables: Number Crunching Made Easy
  • Date:
    Wednesday, November 17, 2010
  • Cost:
    Free
  • Audience:
    Live Webinar: Legislators and legislative staff only.
  • View Archived Webinar

NCSL Contacts

webinar graphic

The Power of Pivot Tables:  Number Crunching Made Easy                   
Recorded Wednesday, November 17, 2010

View the recorded webinar (60 minutes)

Need to compare travel expenditures between agencies or expenditures across juvenile justice programs?  Summarizing data with Excel pivot tables is a snap.  Learn to use pivot tables to do frequency counts, cross-tabulate data, calculate subtotals and averages by grouping categories, plus much more.  Excel 2007 has an improved pivot table interface that makes summarizing data quick and easy.

Co-sponsored by the National Legislative Program Evaluation Society (NLPES), the National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT), and the National Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices (NALFO).

 


The Power of Pivot Tables: Number Crunching Made Easy

Wednesday, November 17, 2010
2 pm Eastern | 1 pm Central | Noon Mountain | 11 am Pacific

Agenda

 

  The Power of Pivot Tables:  Number Crunching Made Easy

 2:00-2:10 pm
 (Eastern)

 Karl Spock, Senior Manager, Texas Sunset Commission

  • Welcome and Introductions
     

  2:10-2:40 pm
 (Eastern)

 Steve Harkreader, Chief Legislative Analyst, OPPAGA, Florida 
  View PowerPoint presentation and practice file
  • Beginning steps
  • Building the pivot table
  • Customizing the pivot table
  • Cautions and recommended procedures
  • Online instruction
     

 2:40-3:00 pm
 (Eastern)

 Participant Questions

 3:00 pm
 (Eastern)

 Webinar ends

 

 


Biographies

Steve Harkreader
Dr. Harkreader is the staff methodologist for the Florida Legislature’s Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability (OPAGGA).  Steve joined OPPAGA in 1998.  He has twenty years of experience in program evaluation and policy analysis.  He has worked in the private, university, and government sectors.

Karl Spock
Mr. Spock is a Senior Manager with the Texas Sunset Commission. He has worked for the Texas Legislature for 20 years as a program evaluator, and has also worked as a management consultant for government or private entities for 13 years. He has evaluated a wide range of agencies in most areas of state government. He has a B.A. in economics and a Masters in Public Affairs from the University of Texas at Austin.