Special March Training for NLPES

2/19/2021

Image of a computer screen showing "Online Learning"

Bias Habit Breaking Training for NLPES Members

The National Legislative Program Evaluation Society is hosting a special three-hour training for NLPES members. This online training will take place via Zoom.

Organizations have become concerned with identifying strategies to reduce rates of bias incidents and to promote equality. The bias habit breaking training was the first and remains the only intervention that has been shown experimentally to produce long-term changes in bias. This training was built on more than 30 years of research on the prejudice habit model. It provides evidence-based approaches to reducing bias and creating inclusion.

This three-hour training:

  1. Equips attendees with a deeper understanding of ways that race bias, gender bias, or other intergroup biases can seep into judgments and behavior unintentionally.
  2. Empowers people to reduce the influence of those biases by teaching a set of concrete evidence-based tools for reducing biases.
     

When

  • Thursday, Mar. 4, 2021
  • 1-4 p.m. ET / Noon-3 p.m. CT / 11 a.m.-2 p.m. MT / 10 a.m.- 1 p.m. PT

Speaker
Dr. William T. L. Cox
William T. L. Cox, Ph.D., is the principal investigator of the Stereotyping and Bias Research (SABR) Lab in the Department of Psychology at the University of Wisconsin–Madison.

Continuing Professional Education
Legislative audit offices that follow GAO Yellow Book standards may authorize this training for three (3) hours of continuing professional education at their discretion.

Registration

Who May Register
Registration for this training is open to NLPES members only.

Participation for the training is limited to 100 people. Participation will be on a first come, first served basis of paid registrations.

Meeting Registration Fee 
The registration fee for this training is $30 per person. 

To Register
Online registration is available. REGISTER HERE

You will receive instructions for the Zoom call when payment for your registration is received and processed.