NLPES Webinar on Confidential Data Access Issues

12/1/2016

Image symbolizing webinar--globe surrounded by computersNCSL webinars  allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desks.  They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Confidential Data Access Issues for Auditors and Evaluators

Thursday, Dec. 15, 2016 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/  1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

Access to confidential data is often a key factor in the ability to answer legislators' concerns when performing an audit or evaluation of an agency or program.  In this webinar, staff from three offices will share their experiences, issues and solutions when it comes to getting access to sensitive or confidential data necessary to do their work.  Specifically, we will focus on what types of training and communications are in place to ensure our own staff know their rights and responsibilities regarding confidential data. We will discuss mechanisms our offices have in place to communicate with the auditee on getting confidential data. We also plan to discuss innovative ways or best practices to help overcome agencies' fears or reluctance to provide confidential data to audit and evaluation staff.

View the Webinar

PowerPoint Presentation

Introductions

  • Katrin Osterhaus, IT audit manager, Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit

Speakers

  • Dr. Jon Courtney, program evaluation manager, New Mexico Legislative Finance Committee
  • Justin Stowe, deputy post auditor, Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit
  • Ted Booth, general counsel, Mississippi Joint Legislative Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review Committee