NLPES Outstanding Achievement Award


2019 Submission Information and Award Criteria

The NLPES Outstanding Achievement Award is presented to an individual who has (or individuals who have) made outstanding contributions to the field of legislative program evaluation or performance auditing while maintaining high ethical and professional standards.  One, multiple or no awards may be granted each year.

Selection Criteria

The recipient of the award will be selected based on the following criteria:

  • Long-time involvement in the fields of legislative program evaluation or performance auditing.
  • Considerable active participation in NLPES (e.g., the individual served on the NLPES Executive Committee; served as a presenter or moderator at NLPES Professional Development Seminars, NLPES webinars, or NLPES sponsored trainings at the NCSL Legislative Summit; or submitted articles for the NLPES newsletter).
  • Other contributions that have advanced the fields of program evaluation or performance auditing (e.g., the individual served on the NCSL Legislative Staff Coordinating Committee, NCSL Standing Committees or NCSL Executive Committee; enhanced the professionalism of program evaluation or performance auditing; or affiliated with other professional associations involved in program evaluation or performance auditing).

Please note: while many of the Outstanding Achievement Award recipients are retired NLPES members, retirement is not one of the criteria for the award.

Submission Instructions

Nominations for the Outstanding Achievement Award must be made by submitting a letter to the NLPES Chair describing how the nominee meets the selection criteria.

Applicants are responsible for submitting all nomination documentation and materials by the May 3, 2019 submission deadline. Judges will not follow up to obtain additional materials nor will additional materials be considered after the submission deadline. Please ensure that your submission packet meets all criteria for the award.


A special five-person selection committee oversees the process for this award. The selection committee consists of the NLPES Chair, NLPES Vice Chair and three other individuals selected by the NLPES Chair who have a significant history of both active participation in NLPES and experience in legislative program evaluation or performance auditing. The selection committee will make its decision based on consensus and may grant one, multiple or no awards each year.

The members of the 2019 Outstanding Achievement Award Selection Committee are:

  • NLPES Chair Shunti Taylor, Georgia Department of Audits and Accounts.
  • NLPES Vice Chair Jon Courtney, New Mexico Legislative Finance Committee.
  • NLPES Immediate Past Chair Linda Triplett, Mississippi PEER Committee.
  • Joel Alter, Minnesota Office of the Legislative Auditor.
  • The remaining member has not yet been named. 

If you have questions about the Outstanding Achievement Award, or if you wish to nominate someone to receive the award, contact the NLPES Chair:

Shunti Taylor
(404) 651-8866