NLPES Information Sharing Call

6/23/2020

Image of the Virginia State Capitol

 Let's Talk!

The COVID-19 pandemic has greatly affected our lives, dividing it into "life as we knew it before COVID" and "life since COVID." The National Legislative Program Evaluation Society is offering an opportunity to its members to learn about and discuss the impact of the pandemic on their state, legislature, audit processes and staff. 

The information sharing call will be held:

  • Thursday, July 16, 2020
  • 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / Noon PT


Continuing Professional Education

Legislative audit offices that follow GAO Yellow Book standards may authorize this call for one (1) hour of continuing professional education at their discretion.

 

Registration

Meeting Registration Fee: 
There is no registration fee for this call. 

To Register:
You must register to participate in the call, and registration is restricted to NLPES members. To register, send an email to Brenda Erickson, NCSL liaison to NLPES. 

In your email, please include the following information:

  • Name
  • The name of your legislative audit agency
  • Telephone number at which you may be reached
  • Email address to which you want call access information to be sent

 

Tentative Agenda

3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / Noon PT
Welcome and Roll Call of Participating States

3:10 p.m. ET / 2:10 p.m. CT / 1:10 p.m. MT / 12:10 p.m. PT
Performance Audit Presentation: Estimating the Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Local Government Revenue
First, Ed Seyler from the Louisiana Legislative Auditor's office will present results from a recent project to estimate the financial impact of the pandemic on local governments by source, including reduced revenues from sales taxes, property tax, and taxes on oil and natural gas production.

3:25 p.m. ET / 2:25 p.m. CT / 1:25 p.m. MT / 12:25 p.m. PT
Group Discussion: How Legislative Performance Audit Offices Are Responding to the Pandemic

Covid-19 forced offices to adapt to significant changes in a very short time. Karen Leblanc, director of Performance Audit Services with the Louisiana Legislative Auditor's office and chair of the NLPES Program Development Committee, will lead your discussion.

  • How the pandemic has changed offices’ work plans and projects.
  • What adjustments have been made to ensure staff can be productive and feel supported.
  • What steps have been taken to address potential financial effects on your offices.

3:40 p.m. ET / 2:40 p.m. CT / 1:40 p.m. MT / 12:40 p.m. PT
Group Discussion: Oversight of Emergency Procurements
States are using emergency procurement procedures during the pandemic to obtain personal protective equipment for medical staff and for other purposes. States are also grappling with how to use CARES Act funding given federal rules that are not entirely clear. These procurements are often being done with less competition and less oversight than regular procurements. We would like to hear:

  • What your offices have done to monitor emergency procurement, recently and prior to the pandemic.
  • What the challenges have been.
  • What has been useful for informing legislators.

3:55 p.m. ET / 2:55 p.m. CT / 1:55 p.m. MT / 12:55 p.m. PT
Wrapup and Closing Remarks
Kristen Rottinghaus, performance audit manager with the Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit and NLPES Executive Committee member, will lead this portion of the call.

4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT / 2 p.m. MT / 1 p.m. PT
Adjourn