NLPES Information Sharing Call #2

10/1/2020

Image of a computer screen with text "E-Learning"

 

Let's Talk about Fieldwork and Technology

The National Legislative Program Evaluation Society is hosting its second information sharing Zoom call. The purpose of the call is to provide an opportunity for NLPES members to share information and learn from each other. This call will center around two topics—fieldwork and technology. Examples of questions to be discussed are shown in the tentative agenda below.

The information sharing call will be held:

  • Thursday,  Oct. 8, 2020
  • 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / Noon PT


Continuing Professional Education

Legislative audit offices that follow GAO Yellow Book standards may authorize this call for one (1) hour of continuing professional education at their discretion.

Registration

Meeting Registration Fee: 
There is no registration fee for this call. 

To Register:
Registration is restricted to NLPES members. 

You must first preregister to participate in the call. To preregister, send an email to Brenda Erickson, NCSL liaison to NLPES. In your email, please include the following information:

  • Name.
  • The name of your legislative audit agency.
  • Telephone number at which you may be reached.
  • Email address to which you want call access information to be sent.

After you preregister, you will receive instructions to complete your registration.

Tentative Agenda

3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / Noon PT
Welcome 

3:10 p.m. ET / 2:10 p.m. CT / 1:10 p.m. MT / 12:10 p.m. PT
Group Discussion about Fieldwork
Discussion Leader: Matt Etzel, Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit

This is meant to be a roundtable discussion, so please be prepared to talk about the following questions:

  1. Has the COVID pandemic affected your office’s ability to do fieldwork, including site visits and in-person interviews?
  2. If your office is doing less fieldwork, has it affected the quality of your end products?
    a. If so, in what way?
    b. If not, does that mean fieldwork is not a valuable part of your evaluations?
  3. What has your office done to minimize the pandemic’s impact on fieldwork?

 

3:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. CT / 1:30 p.m. MT / 12:30 p.m. PT
Group Discussion about Technology

Discussion Leader: Erik Beecroft, Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission

This is meant to be a roundtable discussion, so please be prepared to talk about the following questions:

  1. Has the COVID pandemic led your office to rely more on online collaborative tools, such as Microsoft Teams, Google Docs and Drive, Trello, Slack, etc.?
  2. Is your office doing collaborative document sharing, using Google Docs, Office 365 or a similar tool?
    a. How has that changed the process of drafting reports?
    b. Does it create version control issues for moving files between the cloud and your network server?
  3. Is your office doing collaborative data analysis using online tools?
  4. Is your office using cloud storage for data? Does that create any concerns about data with personal identifying information?

 

3:50 p.m. ET / 2:50 p.m. CT / 1:50 p.m. MT / 12:50 p.m. PT
Wrapup and Closing Remarks
.

4 p.m. ET / 3 p.m. CT / 2 p.m. MT / 1 p.m. PT
Adjourn