2021 NLPES Virtual PDS

8/19/2021

Image of computer screen showing text "Online Learning"

Sept. 28-30, 2021 | via Zoom

The National Legislative Program Evaluation Society (NLPES) hosts a national training event designed exclusively for state legislative staff who work in program evaluation and performance auditing each year. The seminar offers professional development opportunities for program evaluators and performance auditors of all skill levels. 

The 2021 NLPES Professional Development Seminar is scheduled for Sept. 28-30. The 2021 PDS will be a virtual seminar, with all programming taking place through Zoom. None of the PDS sessions will be recorded. 

Registration

Registration

Registration Information

Registration fee:

  • All attendees: $150

Register Online. Requires a credit card for everyone except legislators and legislative staff. Confirmations will be sent by email. Deadline to register online is Sept. 24. 

Online registration is available. REGISTER HERE

You will receive instructions for the Zoom call when payment for your registration is received and processed.

Cancellations received in the NCSL Denver office by Sept. 24, will be refunded minus a $50 processing fee. A cancellation must be in writing; it should be emailed to NCSL Registration or faxed to 303-856-2554. Fees cannot be refunded for registrations canceled after the conference begins.

Day 1

Tuesday, Sept. 28

Session 1:  Equity and Privilege: A Fresh Look
11 a.m. ET | 10 a.m. CT | 9 a.m. MT | 8 a.m. PT
Length: 2 hours

This journey into fruitful engagement with issues of racial equity begins with common experiences. Step by step, we'll walk together into a fuller appreciation of the challenge and the opportunity of addressing systemic inequities

Moderator:

  • Shunti Taylor, Georgia Department of Audits and Accounts

Speakers:

  • Scott Paine, Florida League of Cities
  • Shwanda Barnette, Florida League of Cities

Session 2:  Data Visualization: Rules of Perception of Graphs
2 p.m. ET | 1 p.m. CT | Noon MT | 11 a.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

During the three days of the virtual PDS, Mr. Schwabish will teach participants how to create more effective graphs, using research on human perception and best practices, and how to choose the most appropriate graph type. This is the first of his classes on data visualization. 

Moderator:

  • Erik Beecroft, Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission

Speaker:

  • Jon Schwabish, founder, PolicyViz

Session 3:  Public Speaking: Developing Dynamic Delivery
3:30 p.m. ET | 2:30 p.m. CT | 1:30 p.m. MT | 12:30 p.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

Public speaking is consistently cited as one of people’s great fears, yet legislators and legislative staff are often required to present crucial information to committees and other groups. This training will present concrete tips for taking your public speaking skill set to the next level, allowing participants to develop the confidence and capability to give good presentations that keep the audience engaged.

Moderator:

  • Ray Wright, Mississippi Joint Legislative Committee on Performance Evaluation and Expenditure Review

Speaker:

  • Curt Stedron, NCSL

Day 2

Wednesday, Sept. 29

Session 4:  Randomized Evaluations of Government Programs
11 a.m. ET | 10 a.m. CT | 9 a.m. MT | 8 a.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

Using examples of real evaluations conducted by academic researchers in partnership with government partners looking to measure the impact of their programs, this session will cover the need for evaluation of government policies, why the choice of evaluation methodology matters, and the rationale behind conducting a randomized evaluation.

Moderator:

  • Joshua Karas, Washington Joint Legislative Audit and Review Committee

Speaker:

  • Rohit Naimpally, senior research and policy manager, North America Office of the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab (J-PAL), Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Session 5:  Data Visualization: Types of Visualization
12:30 p.m. ET | 11:30 a.m. CT | 10:30 a.m. MT | 9:30 a.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

During the three days of the virtual PDS, Mr. Schwabish will teach participants how to create more effective graphs, using research on human perception and best practices, and how to choose the most appropriate graph type. This is the second of his classes on data visualization. 

Moderator:

  • Erik Beecroft, Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission

Speaker:

  • Jon Schwabish, founder, PolicyViz

Session 6:  Evidence-based Policymaking in Action
2 p.m. ET | 1 p.m. CT | Noon MT | 11 a.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

How do you ensure that rigorous evidence and high-quality analyses make their way into budget and policy decisions? This session will feature examples from Colorado and New Mexico legislators and legislative staff who are using evidence to inform decisions and make evidence-based policymaking a cross-branch priority. Learn about effective strategies for incorporating evidence into the decision-making process and hear about resources and tools that can help drive better results.

Moderator:

  • Sara Dube, The Pew Charitable Trusts

Speakers:

  • Kristine Goodwin, NCSL
  • Jon Courtney, New Mexico Legislative Finance Committee

Session 7:  The Oregon Audit Trail: How I Learned to Love Performance Audit and Data Analytics
3:30 p.m. ET | 2:30 p.m. CT | 1:30 p.m. MT | 12:30 p.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

The Oregon Audits Division will highlight successful innovations in performance auditing and data analytics. You’ll hear about real-world audit and data analytics work, including the story of how data analytics helped fight food stamp fraud, with a dash of history and theory thrown in.

Moderator:

  • Chris Magee, Louisiana Legislative Auditor’s Office

Speakers:

  • Ian Green, Audits Division, Oregon Office of the Secretary of State
  • Kathy Davis, Audits Division, Oregon Office of the Secretary of State

Day 3

Thursday, Sept. 30

Session 8:  The Power of Sustainable Innovation
11 a.m. ET | 10 a.m. CT | 9 a.m. MT | 8 a.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

Sustainovation are the techniques we use to build sustainable innovation into government. Nick Kittle will explain the nature of innovation in government and how to sustain it—and more importantly, the powerful role that we play in making Sustainovation a reality for our organizations.

Moderator:

  • Paul Navarro, California State Auditor's Office

Speaker:

  • Nick Kittle, founder, Sustainovation

Session 9:  Data Visualization: Visualization Best Practices
12:30 p.m. ET | 11:30 a.m. CT | 10:30 a.m. MT | 9:30 a.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

During the three days of the PDS, Mr. Schwabish will teach participants how to create more effective graphs, using research on human perception and best practices, and how to choose the most appropriate graph type. This is the third and final of his classes on data visualization. 

Moderator:

  • Erik Beecroft, Virginia Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission

Speaker:

  • Jon Schwabish, founder, PolicyViz

Session 10:  Simple Writing
2 p.m. ET | 1 p.m. CT | Noon MT | 11 a.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

This session will make the case for why it is crucial for auditors to use simple writing in their audit reports. The three keys to simple writing will be covered—short sentences, word choice and active voice. A brief demonstration of a free, online grammar tool—Hemingway editor—will be given.

Moderator:

  • Kristen Rottinghaus, Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit 

Speaker:

  • Justin Stowe, legislative post auditor, Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit

Session 11:  Evolve or Die
3:30 p.m. ET | 2:30 p.m. CT | 1:30 p.m. MT | 12:30 p.m. PT
Length: 1 hour

In late July the Washington Post headlined, “DC’s blight problems persist!” citing a DC Auditor’s report, a nice shoutout but FOUR YEARS after the report was published. Is this success? Nothing done for four years? How can our offices have impact, how do we stay relevant, & can good work alone ever be enough? Tips and tactics from a former journalist and legislator.

Moderator:

  • Keenan Konopaski, Washington Joint Legislative Audit and Review Committee

Speaker:

  • Kathy Patterson, D.C. Auditor, Office of D.C. Auditor

CPE

NCSL and NLPES are not registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy's Registry of CPE Sponsors. Continuing professional education (CPE) credits are awarded by seminar participants' employing organization. For your convenience, here is a printable CPE form for the 2021 NLPES Virtual PDS.