Legislative Staff Week Webinar | The Value of Public Service

5/5/2021

webinar graphic

Friday, May 7, 2021 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Most webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

End the 2021 NCSL Legislative Staff Week with Janice Lachance, former director of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, Paul Danczyk, director of Executive Education at the Sol Price School of Public Policy, University of Southern California, and former NCSL Staff Chair Michael Adams, director of human resources for the Senate of Virginia, as they discuss the value of public service, even during the most challenging times.They will discuss why public service matters, share strategies for staying motivated and the importance of public sector leadership. Bring your questions, listen in and prepare to end the week feeling inspired about your work in the legislature.

Register NOWAfter registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speakers

Janice Lachance
Lachance, former director of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, serves as the executive vice president of strategic and operational excellence at the American Geophysical Union. She has an extensive record of executive leadership accomplishments and board service in membership and government organizations, having served as CEO of the Special Libraries Association for more than 10 years, and as the director of the U.S. Office of Personnel Management in the Clinton Administration.  

Paul Danczyk
Danczyk is the director of executive education in Sacramento for the University of Southern California Sol Price School of Public Policy and past president of the American Society for Public Administration. In his current capacity, he designs, coordinates and presents in leadership and management programs–reaching national, state and local governmental and nonprofit organizations–and teaches master-level classes in California. He is the co-director of NCSL’s Legislative Staff Management Institute (LSMI). He is an executive coach, working with more than 600 public-sector senior executives and administrators one-on-one and in teams, and cofounded and is the lead architect of Leadership Energizes and Elected Leaders 360.

Michael Adams
Adams is the director of human resources for the Senate of Virginia and a former NCSL Staff Chair.