Get Ready for Session: Webinars for Legislative Staff

11/22/2021

Alternative Text

Get ready for session with two professional development webinars geared specifically to legislative staff. Fellow staffer Greg Fugate of Colorado will help hone your research acumen, and NCSL's Curt Stedron will be on hand to help you perfect your presentation skills. Register today!

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

Webinars will be recorded for those who are unable to attend the live meeting.

Answering the Research Question: How Do We Add Value? 

Tuesday, Dec. 7, 2021 | 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / Noon PT

In this session, Greg Fugate will discuss common values and goals that legislative staff have when addressing research questions for legislators, relevant considerations to use when gathering evidence, and how to effectively communicate the results for the greatest impact.

REGISTER NOW

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speakers:
  • Greg Fugate has been with the Colorado Office of the State Auditor for more than 20 years. Currently, he manages the office’s Professional Practice and Quality Assurance Section, including providing guidance on auditing standards, conducting internal quality control reviews and external peer reviews, coordinating the office’s annual training plan, and overseeing publications and communications functions. Greg served on the NLPES Executive Committee from 2009-19 and on the NCSL Executive Committee from 2017-19. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in political science and is a Certified Fraud Examiner and Certified Government Auditing Professional. Greg is also an avid dog lover and landscape photographer.

Presentation Skills

Thursday, Dec. 9, 2021 | 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / Noon PT

Public speaking is said to be one of people’s great fears. Legislative staff, however, are often required to present complex information to legislative committees and other groups. This workshop will offer tips on developing the confidence and capability to give presentations that clearly convey essential information while keeping the audience engaged.

REGISTER NOW

After registering you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.

Speakers:
  • Curt Stedron, director, NCSL Legislative Training Institute