LSPA Awards


2022 Call For Nominations

Nominations Are Now Open for the 2022 LSPA Legislative Staff Achievement Awards!

The NCSL Leadership Staff Professional Association (LSPA) invites your nominations for the 2022 Legislative Staff Achievement Award. Up to two legislative staff members are recognized each year for the important contributions they make to the legislative institution and process. Nominations can be made by state legislators or legislative staff. Winners will be honored at the Salute to Legislative Staff session at the annual LSPA Business Meeting and the 2022 NCSL Legislative Summit.

Nomination Form

Please send any questions, or if you want to make your nomination in hardcopy, to Megan McClure, NCSL Liaison to LSPA:

Megan McClure
LSPA Liaison
7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 8230

More information about the NCSL Leadership Staff Professional Association can be found on its website.

The Leadership Staff Professional Association recognizes up to two legislative staff members for their contributions to their legislatures, LSPA and NCSL.

Legislative Staff Achievement Award Criteria

A Legislative Staff Achievement Award nominee may be an individual, office, group or team whose contributions benefit the roles of leadership, personal and caucus, and should meet a significant number of the following criteria. At least one of the awards is presented to an individual who has been an active participant in Leadership Staff Professional Association activities, as evidenced by attendance at the Association's annual training seminars, and by other significant involvement with the Association. Other examples include:

  1. Identified differences and used them positively to benefit our organization, and ultimately our roles in individual states.

  2. Identified significant areas within which we can learn from one another.

  3. Outstanding credibility and genuine interest in networking ideas.

  4. Common understanding necessary for inclusive contributions and acceptance of Leadership Staff Professonal Association participants.

  5. Effectiveness in giving...self, time, resources, benefit our Association.

  6. Insights that can be developed through teamwork (ability to objectively process knowledge/patterns for contriving options for avoidance of common obstacles).

  7. Determined toward efficiency and betterment of professional selves or members; shares "best game" strategies.

  8. Promotes benefits gained from Leadership Staff Professional Assocation.

  9. Develops solution(s) for various subterfuges; emanating realistic expectations versus frustrations - for example, "New Dimensions for Change" ideas.

  10. Improved communication and/or participation in Leadership Staff Association.

The recipients of the awards are announced during the NCSL Legislative Summit. The awards presentation occurs during the Leadership Staff Professional Assocation Fall Professional Development Seminar.

LSPA Legislative Staff Achievement Award Winners




Dan Greer, West Virginia House of Delegates

Sherry McCoy, California Senate


Mechelle Evans, Louisiana House

Branden Pursinger, Oregon Senate


Christie Getto Young, Massachusetts Senate

Aurora Hauke, Alaska House

2018 Sheron Violini, California Senate
2017 Tom Krause, Georgia Senate
2016 Charity Stowe, Indiana House

Naomi Miller, Texas House

Jen Jankowski, Utah House


Sallie Bolton, Kentucky House

Tom Wright, Alaska House


Janeen Halverson, Utah Senate

Aurora Hauke, Alaska House


Terri Franks-Smith, Idaho House
Arnold Sowell, California Assembly


Mechelle Miller, Louisiana House


Mary Sue Jones, Idaho Senate


Erlinda Campbell, New Mexico Senate
Barbara Oakes, Maryland House


Nancy Butcher, West Virginia House


Rosina Boyd, New Mexico House
Kurt Deweese, Illinois House


James Lovette, Pennsylvania House
Dawn Reese, Pennsylvania House


Laura Bauman, Indiana Senate
Erin Russell, Nevada Assembly


Diane Steward, Maine Senate


Joyce Johnson, Tennessee Senate
John Mullins, West Virginia House


Lori Rigby, Delaware House
Meredith Norris, North Carolina House


Mechelle Miller, Louisiana House
Charlotte Ellis Land, Kentucky House


Marsha Wise, Pennsylvania House
Kathy Holcomb, Michigan House


C. Louise Krautheim, Pennsylvania House
Jenifer Noland, Kentucky House


David W. Wilkins, Delaware Senate
Jan Shirrell, Indiana Senate


Thomas R. Tedcastle, Florida House
Toni Christman, Pennsylvania House

More Information

If you have any questions about the awards or the nomination process, please call the LSPA chair or any member of the LSPA Awards Committee or contact Megan McClure, the NCSL liaison for LSPA, at 303-364-7700.