NALIT Virtual Meetings Series

7/23/2020

A bright blue computer keyboard with a large read button with text on it that reads "online training"

The National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT) is proud to present a multi-part series of interactive webinars and virtual meetings—beginning in July—geared toward legislative information technology issues.

This series will begin with sessions on remote/virtual meetings and voting and chamber systems. Subsequent sessions will include discussions on budget issues and security, demonstrations of peer applications and roundtables to talk with your colleagues. There will also be a webinar later this fall on demystifying the dark web.

These sessions will feature legislative staff, NCSL staff and other experts. Participants will have the opportunity to share what is happening in their state and ask questions.

Voting and Chamber Systems: What Technology Are We Using Now?

Thursday, July 23, 2020 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

Many legislatures are now using remote technology to hold legislative session and committee meetings. Learn how some legislatures are integrating their voting systems in these remote meetings. What has worked well? What is a challenge? What security measures can legislative IT use to secure the votes of members?

To register please email NALIT.webinars@ncsl.org (This meeting is open to legislators and legislative staff only.)

Budget Issues, Security Priorities, and the Top Three Issues Facing Legislative IT

Thursday, Aug. 13, 2020 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

This year’s unexpected pandemic has affected IT budgets and changed the way that legislatures and their staff work. Learn how some legislatures have adjusted their IT budget, changed their security priorities and evaluated the trajectory of legislative IT support.

To volunteer to speak about these IT issues in your legislature  please email NALIT.webinars@ncsl.org (This meeting is open to legislators and legislative staff only.)

Legislative Applications Showcases

Thursday, Aug. 27, 2020 | 3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT

Hear from colleagues in several states about new or innovative applications. This part of the annual NALIT Legislative Applications Showcase provides short overviews from several states about new applications they have developed.

To volunteer to demonstrate a new application your legislature has developed please email NALIT.webinars@ncsl.org (This meeting is open to legislators and legislative staff only.)

Five Minutes of Fame

Date: TBD

Hear a concise overview of current IT projects, issues and accomplishments in other states. Share your experiences and expertise and hear from others for new ideas, information or advice.

To volunteer to speak about something your legislative IT division has accomplished this year, please email NALIT.webinars@ncsl.org (This meeting is open to legislators and legislative staff only.)

NALIT Roundtables

Date: TBD

Join this large roundtable and then divide into discussion groups by topic. Topics will include: management, security, development, customer support, hardware and infrastructure.

Facilitator

  • Jeff Ford, Indiana

Registration will open once a date is set. (This meeting will be open to legislators and legislative staff only.)

Demystifying the Dark Web

Thursday, Sept. 10, 2020 | 1 p.m. ET/ Noon CT/ 11 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. PT

Most people probably think that the dark web is a bad place where hackers lurk. This session will explain the parts of the web and how the deep or dark web, while anonymous, is not always used for nefarious purposes. Learn how these anonymous sites are used to conduct research, in undercover police operations and to protect confidential sources.

Register Here. (This webinar is open to all legislators, legislative staff and NCSL partner organizations.)