LINCS Fall Virtual Programming

9/23/2020

Alternative Text

The Legislative Information and Communications Staff (LINCS) professional association is pleased to offer fall 2020 virtual professional development programming in lieu of in-person meetings. These sessions cover a variety of topics for LINCS members and are useful whether you are new to the legislature or a seasoned staffer with extensive legislative experience.

The sessions will feature legislative staff and NCSL staff. Participants will have the opportunity to share what is happening in their states and ask questions.

Crisis Communications: Best Practices for the Worst Times

Thursday, Oct. 8, 2020 | 1:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. CT / 11:30 MT / 10:30 a.m. PT

A global pandemic, protests and incident response. While many look forward to moving past 2020, this year has revealed the value of preparing for a crisis. For those who must communicate during crises—whether internally or externally—it helps to plan ahead. This webinar explores the elements of a solid crisis communications plan, including best practices for when and how to gather and deliver accurate information during challenging situations, and offers real-world examples faced by the Washington State Legislature. Register today!

Speakers:

  • Jennifer Hansen, public information officer and social media coordinator, Washington State House of Representatives
  • Craig Ginn, deputy director of security, emergency preparedness and safety, Washington State House of Representatives

Boosting EQ: How to Increase our Emotional Intelligence

Thursday, Oct. 22, 2020 | 3 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. CT / 1 p.m. MT / noon PT

Everyone wants to think of themselves as intelligent, in possession of a high IQ. But recent research in the field of organizational psychology suggests that Emotional Intelligence, or EQ, is an even more important attribute for success in both our personal and professional lives.In this training we will explore what EQ is, why it matters, and how you can boost your own EQ score to improve the outcomes of your interactions with others. 

This training will be taught by NCSL's director of legislative training, Curt Stedron. 

To register, please email Jennifer Stewart at jennifer.stewart@ncsl.org