Fall Virtual Programming 2021

10/11/2021

Alternative Text

The Legislative Information and Communications Staff (LINCS) professional association is pleased to offer fall 2021 virtual professional development programming in lieu of in-person meetings. These sessions cover a variety of topics for LINCS members and are useful whether you are new to the legislature or a seasoned staffer with extensive legislative experience.

The sessions will feature legislative staff and NCSL staff. Participants will have the opportunity to share what is happening in their states and ask questions.

LINCS gratefully acknowledges NCTA – the Internet and Television Association for their sponsorship of 2021 LINCS virtual programming.

Reduce, Reuse and Repurpose: Get More Out of Your Content

Co-sponsored by the Leadership Staff Professional Staff Association (LSPA)

Monday, Oct. 18

2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/ Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

With a nonstop demand for articles, blows, tweets, emails, videos and more, it can be overwhelming to keep up. This session looks at ways to slow the tidal flow of communication by smartly repurposing content. Randy Ford, a longtime congressional press staffer, will share ideas and best practices for getting more mileage for your created content.

To learn more click here.

LINCS Virtual Business Meeting

Thursday, Oct. 21

3 p.m. ET/2 p.m. CT/1 p.m. MT/Noon PT/11 a.m. AKT/9 a.m. HT

Legislative Information and Communications Staff (LINCS) members and all interested legislative communication staff are invited to attend the annual business meeting. At this meeting, LINCS will conduct elect their new officers for the 2021-2022 conference year, present the 2020 and 2021 Legislative Staff Achievement Awards and discuss upcoming professional staff association activities. 

Presiding: Betsy Theroux, Director of House Media Services and LINCS Chair, Georgia

Register here.

A Look Inside Media Credentialing

Thursday, November 18 (tentative)

A panel discussion covering certain aspects of media credentialing (for traditional and new media and how media credentialing worked during the pandemic).

Presenters: TBD

Reporters Roundtable: Pandemic Edition

Thursday, December 3 (tentative)

LINCS members will turn the tables on statehouse reporters and get to ask the questions. The focus on this session will be on how reporters covered the legislature during the pandemic and how communications staff can effectively connect with reporters in 2022, and beyond.  

Presenters: TBD