2020 Legislative Staff Achievement Award


Call for Nominations

Do you know a colleague who deserves recognition for outstanding work? Please let us know! LINCS is accepting nominations for the 2020 Legislative Staff Achievement Award, created by the NCSL Legislative Staff Coordinating Committee in 1997. The award is designed to recognize those who demonstrate excellence in supporting the work of a state legislature and strengthening the legislative institution.

Each staff association may nominate up to two people, teams or legislative offices from its membership. Recipients of the 2020 Legislative Staff Achievement Awards will be announced by NCSL at the 2020 Legislative Summit in Indianapolis, Ind.

All members of LINCS are eligible and nominations may be submitted by the nominee or by other LINCS members. The LINCS executive committee will review the nominations and select the winner(s), who will be notified in early May. Please submit an email describing how the nominee meets one or more of the criteria below to Holly South by Friday, April 10.

  • Helps improve the effectiveness of the legislative institution.
  • Supports the legislative process and the mission of the legislature.
  • Exhibits a high degree of professionalism, competence and integrity in serving the legislature and the public.
  • Contributes to the work of the National Conference of State Legislatures.
  • Demonstrates expertise in a particular field.
  • Contributes to existing knowledge.
  • Contributes to LINCS.

Nominations can also be mailed to Holly South at NCSL, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230. Please feel free to call 303-856-1465 with any questions.

Past Award Recipients


Erica Shorkey 
Deputy Communications Director, Iowa Senate Democratic Caucus

A natural introvert with a lifelong passion for politics, Erica likes working behind the scenes to help legislators stay in touch with constituents. Part of a small communications operation, her job includes writing, editing and photography; creating and maintaining databases, websites and social media; and assisting with graphic, audio and video production. She especially enjoys simplifying complex information to help Iowa citizens understand what’s happening in state government. A Midwest girl, Erica was raised in Michigan, attended college in Minnesota and holds a master’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Erica was selected for the 2019 Legislative Staff Achievement Award for her ability to confront and master challenges, including the intricacies of email list management, web platform changes, computer support issues and an explosion in social media output. Most importantly, Erica works successfully with an ever-changing group of state senators who increasingly value (and have strong and sometimes contradictory opinions about) the diverse communications tasks she manages. 

Tim Bommel 
Photojournalist, Missouri House of Representatives

Tim Bommel has been serving as the staff photojournalist for the Missouri House of Representatives for nearly 20 years. His goal is to inform the public through journalistic, group, portrait and constituent photography. Prior to joining the legislature, Tim worked as a studio, wedding and commercial photographer. He also was as a member of the Missouri Army National Guard, serving as a photojournalist.
Tim was selected for the 2019 Legislative Staff Achievement Award by his peers for his years of legislative experience, which bring “an unparalleled point of view to the LINCS association.” Not only is he a deeply committed legislative staffer and asset to LINCS, Tim is a dedicated father of eight children.


Jeff Fossett
Video Communications Specialist, Kentucky Legislative Research Commission


K'Lynn Sloan Harris
Audio/Video Coordinator, Montana Legislative Services Division


Dennis Yoder
Communications Technician, Senate Media Services, Texas


Morgan Blanchard
Communications Specialist, Louisiana State Senate

Jessica Bralish
Communications Director, Colorado Senate Minority