NALFO Fall Programming Series

11/11/2020

Alternative Text

The National Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices (NALFO) has created a series of Zoom calls and webinars on a variety of topics of interest to legislative fiscal staff. The series will explore specific program areas impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, as well as sessions designed to provide guidance for legislative fiscal staff on navigating legislative sessions and state budgets during an economic downturn. More sessions will be added to this page as programming is finalized.

Budgeting for Higher Education in the Era of COVID-19

Friday, Nov. 20
10-11 a.m. PT | 11-Noon p.m. MT | Noon-1 p.m. CT | 1-3 p.m. ET

Colleges and universities face unique and unprecedented challenges when it comes to safely operating during the COVID-19 pandemic, and those challenges are having a significant impact on higher education budgets. Hear from NCSL experts about trends in state funding for higher education, the impact of federal aid, and the funding challenges facing state lawmakers and higher education institutions.

Speakers:

  • Austin Reid, director, NCSL Education Committee
  • Sunny Deye, program director, Postsecondary Education

REGISTER NOW

Trends and Challenges in State K-12 Education Funding

Thursday, Dec. 3

11- Noon PT | Noon-1 p.m. MT | 1-2 p.m. CT | 2-3 p.m. ET

K-12 education is one of the largest and most important segments of state budgets, and the COVID-19 pandemic is straining state funding for K-12 programs. This session will focus on trends in K-12 education budgets and how state and school districts are adjusting to declining state revenues and spending pressures related to COVID-19.

Speaker:

  • Dan Thatcher, Senior Fellow, NCSL Education Program

REGISTER NOW