NALFO Fall Programming Series 2021

10/6/2021

Alternative Text

Over the fall and winter, the National Association of Legislative Fiscal Offices (NALFO) has created a series of Zoom calls and webinars on a variety of topics of interest to legislative fiscal staff. The series will feature sessions to provide guidance for legislative fiscal staff on navigating legislative sessions and state budgeting, as well as some topics on specific program areas. More sessions will be added to this page as programming is finalized.

Analyzing Agency Budget Requests: Key Questions and Considerations

Wednesday, Oct. 20 at 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m./Noon MT/11 a.m. PT

Legislative fiscal analysts are often tasked with reviewing budget requests agencies submit, and making recommendations to members. Geared towards less experienced legislative fiscal staff, this session will feature two seasoned legislative fiscal directors, who will offer advice on key questions to ask when reviewing requests, and other tricks of the trade.

Speakers:

  • Kirk Fulford, Deputy Director, Legislative Fiscal Office, Alabama
  • Melody DeBussey, Director, Senate Budget & Evaluation Office, Georgia

REGISTER HERE

Trends and Challenges in K-12 Education Funding

Thursday, October 28, 2pm ET/1pm CT/Noon MT/11 am PT

The pandemic had a major impact on U.S. school systems, and states have been working hard to make sure schools have the funding and tools to address the many challenges. In this session, two NCSL experts will discuss issues facing K-12 education funding, including state programs to address learning loss, and the guidance and challenges around ARPA education funds.

Speakers:

  • Dan Thatcher, Senior Education Fellow, NCSL
  • Austin Reid, Senior Legislative Director, Federal Education Policy, NCSL

REGISTER HERE

Navigating the Waters: How States are Spending Federal Funds

Thursday, Sept. 16 at 2 p.m. ET/1 p.m./Noon MT/11 a.m. PT

The federal government has authorized billions in state aid in response to the coronavirus pandemic. The stimulus funds are intended to meet immediate and long-term public health and economic needs, but not without its own challenges. The session will dive into the ways states are utilizing federal stimulus dollars and strategies to avoid falling off the fiscal cliff.

REGISTER HERE

Speakers:

  • Emily Maher, Senior Policy Specialist, NCSL