Legislative Education Staff Network 2013 Recognition Award

To: Legislative Education Staff
From: Paul Headlee, NCSL Co-Chair, Legislative Education Staff Network, Idaho
Kathy Hanlon, ECS Co-Chair, Legislative Education Staff Network, Iowa
Date: May 14, 2013
Re: Legislative Education Staff Network

To view PDF file, you must install Adobe Acrobat Reader

We all know one—a legislative education staffer who exhibits a high degree of professionalism, competence and integrity in service to the legislature and the public; is an expert in education policy; and contributes to the work of the Legislative Education Staff Network (LESN). Such a person deserves our admiration and recognition for their efforts. With that goal in mind, it is our pleasure to announce that LESN is accepting nominations of legislative education staff for the 2013 LESN Recognition Award!  This is your chance to recognize a talented employee or colleague who has provided outstanding service to the legislative process through the years and who has been active in our network. This year's award recipient will be recognized at the Education Commission of the States (ECS) National Forum in St. Louis, Missouri, June 25-27 and the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) Legislative Summit in Atlanta, Georgia, Aug. 12-15.

All legislative staff that work on education policy and have participated in the LESN are eligible to receive this award. The selection criteria are listed in the award guidelines. Please submit the nomination form by Friday, May 31, detailing your nominee's contributions and how the nominee meets the selection criteria. The recipient of the award will be notified by Monday, June 10.

We strongly encourage you to showcase your state's education staff and recognize their contributions to LESN and the legislative process by nominating your colleagues. We look forward to receiving your nominations. Please contact Emily Workman, ECS LESN Staff Coordinator, at 303-299-3631 or eworkman@ecs.org if you have any questions.