2014 (October) Membership and Communication Committee Meeting Minutes


American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

Baton Rouge, LA
Thursday, Oct. 9, 2014

Call to Order

The meeting of the Membership and Communication Committee was called to order by Lindsey Grovom (MT), chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


Lindsey Grovom (MT), Chair


Nancy Goodman (NC)


Jennifer Novak (ID), Vice Chair


Ann Luck (NC)


Shereen Baker (CA), Vice Chair


Sylvia Brown (NV)


Buddy Johnson (AR)


Megan Totino Consedine (PA)


Leslie Awtrey (AZ)


Patience Worrel (TX)


Norma Chastain (AZ)


Tracy Ortiz (TX)


Sandra Daly (CA)


Philip Cottingham (TX)


Tim Mapes (IL)


John “Jay” Pearson (VA)


Cory Carnahan (KS)


Cathy Hooe (VA)


Jean Burgin (KY)


Jeannine Layell (VA)


Ruby Johnson (LA)


Jackie Scott (VA)


Angela Smith (LA)


Sarah Armistead (VA)


Judy Barrows (ME)


Lee Cassis (WV)


Al Mathiowetz (MN)


Patty Benskin (WY)


Terry Spieler (MO)




Other members/guests in attendance included: Sharon Soliere (AZ), Amy Leach (CA), Deb Parker (CO/NCSL), Alyce Horton (MS), Dee Barfknecht (MT), Terry Rumley (NC), Barbara Lecarpentier (VA), and Ellen Thompson (WY).

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Norma Chastain (AZ), seconded by Judy Barrows (ME), the minutes of the last meeting held Aug. 19, 2014, during the NCSL Legislative Summit in Minneapolis, MN, were approved.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

President-Elect Humphrey (TN) thanked Chair Grovom (MT) and the committee members for their commitment. He emphasized that outreach is the first impression for new attendees.

The committee provided feedback regarding the Bingo icebreaker. Judy Barrows (ME) thought the instructions were vague and perhaps a trial run at the summer meeting might be beneficial. Terry Rumley (NC) liked the game because it provided a level playing field and was good for both introverts and extroverts. Norma Chastain (AZ) liked having President Lowell (AK) pin the new attendees and she pointed out that Bingo was both fun and informative. Further, we won't have to reinvent the wheel if we use it in 2015, thereby allowing us to focus on the communication mission of the committee.

Jackie Scott (VA) suggested that the room was too small to accommodate all of the attendees and the sponsors. Jeannine Layell (VA) stated that it was problematic for sponsors and new attendees to connect at the meeting. Chair Grovom (MT) suggested using place cards. Norma Chastain (AZ) suggested that sponsors wait at the door for the new attendees and then they could sit together. Dee Barfknecht (MT) proposed including “meet up” information in the letter to the sponsors.

Regarding the meeting format, Terry Rumley (NC) submitted that socializing might be encouraged if refreshments were held until the end of the meeting. Judy Barrows (ME) suggested placing agendas on the tables, which would alert folks to the group photo following the meeting, in order to have everyone in the photo. Norma Chastain (AZ) added that the number of attendees impacts what we are able to do.

As for sponsors, Norma Chastain (AZ) said that Chair Grovom (MT) might need a list of alternate sponsors, because of last minute registrations. Judy Barrows (ME) said that potentially Angela Andrews could provide last minute gifts, such as clocks and pin maps, for late registrants. Jeannine Layell (VA) said that sponsors and new attendees should not be from the same state.

Lastly, the pin contest was discussed. Ann Luck (NC) wasn’t aware of the rules/guidelines for the contest. Shereen Baker (CA) noted the information was contained in the sponsor's letter. Norma Chastain (AZ) offered that there needs to be clarification regarding what is allowed and how many pins per state are allowed. Duplicate pins should not be counted toward the total.


Upon a motion by Jean Burgin (KY), seconded by Jennifer Novak (ID), the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Cathy Hooe (VA)