2014 (October) Bylaws and Standing Orders Committee Meeting Minutes


American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

Baton Rouge, LA
Thursday, Oct. 9, 2014

Call to Order

The meeting of the Bylaws and Standing Orders Committee was called to order by Patsy Spaw (TX), chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


Patsy Spaw (TX), Chair


Julie Bochat (MO)


Sandy Tenney (UT), Vice Chair


Terry Spieler (MO)


Bill McGill (VT), Vice Chair


Carol Newton (MO)


Suzi Lowell (AK)


Tad Mayfield (MO)


Liz Clark (AK)


Patrick O'Donnell (NE)


Tisha Gieser (AK)


Paul Smith (NH)


Shereen Baker (CA)


Susan Furlong (NV)


JoAnne Hedrick (DE)


Patience Worrel (TX)


Brad Bolin (IL)


Phil Cottingham (TX)


Butch Speer (LA)


Janice Gadd (UT)


Ron Smith (LA)


G. Paul Nardo (VA)


Judy Barrows (ME)


Susan Clarke Schaar (VA)


Al Mathiowetz (MN)


Tara Perkinson (VA)


Michael Linn (MN)




Other members/guests in attendance included Russell Humphrey (TN), ASLCS president-elect, Jeff Woodard (AL), Cheryl Laube (AZ), Cindi Markwell (CO), and Bo Hoover (WV).

Old Business

Patsy Spaw, (TX), chair, welcomed new and returning members and gave a status report on the work of the previous Bylaws and Standing Orders Committee. The previous committee had completed a draft of recommended changes to the Standing Orders after a review for grammatical errors and inconsistencies in the use of specific terms and possible conflicts between standing orders. The members were given copies of the draft and asked to review and make comments by December 1.

Additionally, at the request of President Lowell, the committee reviewed and compared the sufficiency of committee descriptions that are printed in the roster with responsibilities of committees contained in the Standing Orders. The committee brought forward the recommendation that the descriptions in both the roster and the Standing Orders should be identical and for the committees with no committee descriptions in the Standing Orders, descriptions should be included. The chair reported that suggested language has been drafted and will be forwarded to members of the committee for committee review.

New Business

Patsy Spaw reported that the committee has several new charges in addition to completing the work of the previous committee. On August 21, 2014, the Executive Committee adopted recommendations from the Strategic Planning Committee to: (1) designate the Roster Committee as a special committee appointed by the President, with one state responsible for annual production of the Roster & Reference Guide; and (2) give the president-elect the responsibility for leading the Society's outreach efforts to new principals and their associates and to principals and associates who have been active in the past but no longer participate in the Society and directed the Bylaws and Standing Orders Committee to draft appropriate revisions to the Bylaws and Standing Orders for the two approved recommendations.

ASLCS President-Elect Russell Humphrey requested that the committee draft language for a scholarship for principals to be named in honor of Millie MacFarland. The chair named the following subcommittee to prepare a draft proposal: Bill Magill (VT), chair, Susan Clarke Schaar (VA), Butch Speer (LA), and Suzi Lowell (AK).


Upon a motion by Susan Clarke Schaar (VA), seconded by Sandy Tenney (UT), the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Patsy Spaw (TX), Chair