2014 (August) Program Development Committee Minutes


American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

Minneapolis, Minn.
Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2014

Call to Order

The meeting of the Program Development Committee was called to order by Liz Clark (Alaska), chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


Liz Clark (Alaska), chair


Patrick O’Donnell (Neb.)


Jamie Kruse (Neb.), vice-chair


Lenore Naranjo (N.M.)


Yolanda Dixon (La.), vice-chair


Matthew Baker (Nev.)


Tisha Gieser (Alaska)


Lucinda Benjamin (Nev.)


Gina Spartz (Alaska)


David Byerman (Nev.)


Norma Chastain (Ariz.)


Susan Furlong (Nev.)


Cheryl Laube (Ariz.)


Megan Consendine (Pa.)


Sandra Daly (Calif.)


Whitney Johnson (Tenn.)


Juan (Jay) Alburez-Sevilla (Calif.)


Philip Cottingham (Texas)


Kathleen Lewis (Calif.)


Linda Tubbs (Texas)


Brenda Thibodeaux Harris (Calif.)


Scott Caffey (Texas)


Rosemarie Mastrandrea (Calif.)


Mary Andrus (Utah)


Jennifer Novak (Idaho)


Kathy Jackson (Utah)


Bonnie Alexander (Idaho)


Melanie Newby (Va.)


Susan Kannarr (Kan.)


Jennifer Welch (Va.)


Adanna Hydes (Ky.)


Sarah A. Armistead (Va.)


Jean Burgin (Ky.)


Jackie Scott (Va.)


Ron Smith (La.)


Cathy Hooe (Va.)


Angela Smith (La.)


Jeannine Layell (Va.)


Ruby Johnson (La.)


Jan Waldrop (Va.)


Michael Menszer (La.)


G. Paul Nardo (Va.)


Judy Barrows (Maine)


Barbara LeCarpentier (Va.)


Rob Hunt (Maine)


Jeff Finch (Va.)


David Surdez (Minn.)


Maryann Horch (Va.)


Al Mathiowetz (Minn.)


Jay Braxton (Va.)


Gail Romanowski (Minn.)


Trish O’Brien (Va.)


Michael Linn (Minn.)


Susan Clarke Schaar (Va.)


Lisa Davis (Miss.)


Dianne Whitaker (Va.)


Terry Rumley (N.C.)


Bill MaGill (Vt.)


Ann Luck (N.C.)


Lee Cassis (W.V.)


Dianne Russell (N.C.)


Terry Spieler (Mo.)

Other members/guests in attendance included Scott Kaiser (Ill.), Michelle Wright (Va.), Joanna Bolstad (Va.), Rose Ramsey (Va.), Millie MacFarland (Maine) and Tara Perkinson (Va.).

Approval of Minutes

The minutes of the spring meeting held on May 3, 2014 in Nashville, Tenn. were not approved by the committee, mainly due to the failure of the chair to solicit a motion. These minutes are available in the summer 2014 edition of the Legislative Administrator and may be adopted by the committee in the future.

Old Business

Chair Clark distributed copies of the preliminary schedule for the Professional Development Seminar to be held in Baton Rouge, La. in October 2014. There was discussion about the plenary speakers secured for the conference and Chair Clark asked members to consider questions they might like asked of James Carville/Mary Matalin. David Byerman (Nev.) suggested the new ASLCS Facebook page as a spot for people to post questions; Chair Clark agreed there will be an opportunity for members of the Society's Facebook page to post questions in that forum.

There was a brief description of the additional plenary session by Karen Cortell Reismann on public speaking and a bonus special concurrent entitled "Why Louisiana Ain't Mississippi" by Louisiana's lieutenant governor, Jay Dardanne.

Chair Clark described concurrent sessions that will be sponsored by the Support Staff, International Communication and Development and Technology committees. She explained the other concurrents are still taking shape and that she will be soliciting help from committee members.

David Byerman (Nev.) suggested moderators of the concurrent sessions could also use the ASLCS Facebook page as a way to publicize their sessions.

New Business

All members of ASLCS were encouraged to attend the meeting in Baton Rouge and to consider bringing guests.


Upon a motion by Yolanda Dixon (La.) and without objection, the meeting was adjourned at 4:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Liz Clark (Alaska)
With thanks to Yolanda Dixon (La.) for taking the minutes.