2013 (August) Program Development Committee Meeting Minutes


American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

Atlanta, Ga.
Monday, Aug. 12, 2013

Call to Order

The meeting of the Program Development Committee was called to order by Norma Chastain (Ariz.), Chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


Norma Chastain (Ariz.), Chair


Nathan Hatfield (Va.)


Tisha Gieser (Alaska), Vice-Chair


Catherine Hooe (Va.)


Paula Rossetto (Calif.), Vice-Chair


Kathryn Jackson (Utah)


Bonnie Alexander (Texas)


Susan Kannarr (Kan.)


Tim Anderson (Ill.)


Jamie Kruse (Neb.)


Mary Andrus (Utah)


Cheryl Laube (Ariz.)


Jocelyn Acquino (Calif.)


Jeannine Layelle (Va.)


Matthew Baker (Nev.)


Michael Linn (Minn.)


Shereen Baker (Calif.)


Lia Lopes (Calif.)


Judy Barrows (Maine)


Bill Magill (VT)


Lucinda Benjamin (Nev.)


Charlotte Mary (Va.)


Johnye Bennett (Va.)


Rosemarie Mastrandrea (Calif.)


George Bishop (Va.)


Nathan Mayes (Calif.)


Jay Braxton (Va.)


Pat O'Donnell (Neb.)


Karen Brown (Utah)


Neva Parker (Calif.)


Jean Burgin (Ky.)


Sue Parker (Calif.)


Scott Caffey (Texas)


Michelle Poole (N.C.)


Jacqueline Delight (Calif.)


Dawn Reese (Pa.)


Yolanda Dixon (La.)


Susan Schaar (Va.)


Marguerite Duda (W.Va.)


Jackie Scott (Va.)


Brian Ebbert (Calif.)


Ann Marie Sweeney (Pa.)


Marilyn Eddins (Colo.)


Brenda Thibodeaux-Harris (Calif.)


Jeffrey Finch (Va.)


Bonnie Trivette (N.C.)


Janice Gadd (Utah)


Linda Tubbs (Texas)


Chris Griesel (Texas)


Tricia Vaughan (Va.)


Shelle Grim-Brooks (Nev.)


Maureen Wilson (Utah)


Lourdes Guerra (Texas)


Patience Worrell (Texas)


Virginia Habansky (Va.)


Tammy Wright (N.H.)

Other members/guests in attendance included: David Byerman (Nev.), Pat Cottingham (Texas), Judy Hall (Ore.), Terry Spieler (Mo.), Michelle Wright (Va.), Angela Andrews (NCSL).

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Cheryl Laube (Ariz.), seconded by Nathan Hatfield (Va.), the minutes of the last meeting held April 20, 2013, during the Spring Meeting in Santa Fe, N.M., were approved.

Old Business

Angela Andrews summarized her recent site visit to Sacramento. She outlined the events at Sutter's Fort, the California State Railroad Museum, Stanford Mansion, and the Old Sugar Mill. She also explained that on Friday, October 11th, a tour and breakout sessions would be conducted at the Capitol, which is within walking distance of the hotel.

Chair Norma Chastain (Ariz.) summarized the concurrent sessions, explaining which committees were responsible for sponsoring which sessions. She explained that moderators and a few panelists had been secured for the two sessions sponsored by the Program Development Committee—”Teaching Custom, Usage and Precedent” and “Succession Planning and Surviving Change”—but additional panelists were needed.

Pat O'Donnell (Neb.) offered to serve as a panelist on the “Teaching Custom, Usage and Practices” concurrent session. David Byerman (Nev.) suggested that Susan Furlong (Nev.) be contacted regarding serving on the “Succession Planning and Surviving Change” session.

Pat O'Donnell (Neb.) asked that the committee be emailed a copy of the spreadsheet listing the moderators and panelists for each concurrent session. Chair Norma Chastain (Ariz.) responded that she would email the spreadsheet to the committee.

Susan Clarke Schaar (Va.) offered to serve as a panelist on the “Teaching Custom, Usage and Practices” concurrent session.

Chair Norma Chastain (Ariz.) announced that conference calls would be set up for each concurrent session in the coming weeks.


Upon a motion by Cheryl Laube (Ariz.), seconded by Janice Gadd (Utah), the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Tisha Gieser (Alaska), Vice Chair