2013 (August) Membership and Communication Committee Meeting Minutes


American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

Atlanta, Ga.
Monday, Aug. 12, 2013

Call to Order

The meeting of Membership and Communication Committee was called to order by Johnye Bennett (Va.), Chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


Johnye Bennett (Va.), Chair


John Hollman (Ill.)


Joseph Carleton (Maine), Vice-Chair


Susan Kannarr (Kan.)


Catherine Hooe (Va.), Vice-Chair


Andrew Ketchings (Miss.)


Bonnie Alexander (Idaho),


Cheryl Laube (Ariz.)


Sarah Armistead (Va.)


Jeannine Layell (Va.)


Shereen Baker (Calif.)


Suzi Lowell (Alaska)


Judy Barrows (Maine)


Ann Luck (N.C.)


Joan Branson (Mo.)


Jim Schratz (Ark.)


Karen Brown (Utah)


Jackie Scott (Va.)


David Byerman (Nev.)


Ann Marie Sweeney (Pa.)


Ann Cornwell (Ark.)


Bonnie Trivette (N.C.)


Sandra Daly (Calif.)


Denise Weeks (N.C.)


Lourdes Guerra (Texas)


Jennifer Welch (Va.)


JoAnn Hedrick (Del.)


Kathy White (Mo.)


Ruby Johnson (La.)


Alan Whittington (Tenn.)


Jennifer Novak (Idaho)


Patience Worrell (Texas)


Other members/guests in attendance included: Millie McFarland (Mass.); Eric Bingham (Va.); Melanie Newby, (Va.); Erica Manson (Va.); Norma Chastain (Ariz.).

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Susan Kannarr (Kan.), seconded by Suzi Lowell (Alaska) the minutes of the last meeting held April 20, 2013, during the ASLCS Spring Business Meeting in Santa Fe, N.M. were approved.

Old Business

Chair Johnye Bennett updated the committee on the following issues. The group photo will be taken at the New Attendee Orientation in Sacramento by Maryann Horch (Va.). The sponsor recruitment email has been sent to Angela Andrews for distribution to members via listserv. The sponsor recruitment ad was printed in the Legislative Administrator. The committee has received approval from Angela Andrews and Karen Wadsworth to use small items from the ASLCS inventory to use as prizes.

New Business

Chair Bennett reviewed the rules and logistics of the icebreaker “Minute To Win It” game planned for the new attendee orientation in October. Time allowed a practice run of the game. Eric Bingham (Va.), Erica Manson (Va.) and Melanie Newby (Va.) assisted with the game props. Cheryl Laube (Ariz.), Denise Weeks (N.C.), Bonnie Alexander (Idaho), Suzi Lowell (Alaska), Susan Kannar (Kan.), Norma Chastain (Ariz.) and Millie McFarland (Mass.) were game contestants in the practice run.

Chair Bennett implored the committee for questions geared towards state and ASLCS trivia. Denise Weeks (N.C.) encouraged the committee to provide questions as well. David Byerman (Nev.), Cheryl Laube (Ariz.), Bonnie Alexander (Idaho), Judy Barrows (Maine) provided questions for the game. Denise Weeks volunteered to be “Vanna” in Sacramento asking questions to the contestants.

A brief discussion of the agenda for Sacramento followed. Chair Bennett asked for volunteers to assist with room set up in Sacramento.


Upon a motion by Denise Weeks (N.C.), seconded by Cheryl Laube (Ariz.) the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Johnye Bennett (Va.), Chair