American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) Roster Minutes

Spring Meeting
Santa Fe, NM
April 20, 2013

Call to Order

The meeting of the Program Development Committee was called to order by Norma Chastain (AZ), Program Development Chair at 11:00 a.m.


The following members of the committee were present:


Norma Chastain (Ariz.), Chair


Nathan Hatfield (Va.)


Tisha Gieser (Alaska), Vice-Chair


Catherine Hooe (Va.)


Paula Rossetto (Calif.), Vice-Chair


Kathryn Jackson (Utah)


Bonnie Alexander (Texas)


Susan Kannarr (Kan.)


Tim Anderson (Ill.)


Jamie Kruse (Neb.)


Mary Andrus (Utah)


Cheryl Laube (Ariz.)


Jocelyn Acquino (Calif.)


Jeannine Layelle (Va.)


Matthew Baker (Nev.)


Michael Linn (Minn.)


Shereen Baker (Calif.)


Lia Lopes (Calif.)


Judy Barrows (Maine)


Bill Magill (Vt.)


Lucinda Benjamin (Nev.)


Charlotte Mary (Va.)


Johnye Bennett (Va.)


Rosemarie Mastrandrea (Calif.)


George Bishop (Va.)


Nathan Mayes (Calif.)


Jay Braxton (Va.)


Pat O'Donnell (Neb.)


Karen Brown (Utah)


Neva Parker (Calif.)


Jean Burgin (Ky.)


Sue Parker (Calif.)


Scott Caffey (Texas)


Michelle Poole (N.C.)


Jacqueline Delight (Calif.)


Dawn Reese (Pa.)


Yolanda Dixon (La,)


Susan Schaar (Va.)


Marguerite Duda (W.Va.)


Jackie Scott (Va.)


Brian Ebbert (Calif.)


Ann Marie Sweeney (Pa.)


Marilyn Eddins (Colo.)


Brenda Thibodeaux-Harris (Calif.)


Jeffrey Finch (Va.)


Bonnie Trivette (N.C.)


Janice Gadd (Utah)


Linda Tubbs (Texas)


Chris Griesel (Texas)


Tricia Vaughan (Va.)


Shelle Grim-Brooks (Nev.)


Maureen Wilson (Utah)


Lourdes Guerra (Texas)


Patience Worrell (Texas)


Virginia Habansky (Va.)


Tammy Wright (N.H.)

Other members/guests in attendance included:
David Byerman (Nev.)
Leslie Edwards (Ariz.)
Maryann Horch (Va.)
Rob Hunt (Maine)
Lenore Naranjo (N.M.)
Terry Spieler (Mo.)

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Nathan Hatfield (Va.), seconded by Janice Gadd (Utah), the minutes of the last meeting held Oct. 6, 2012, during the Professional Development Seminar in Richmond, Va. were approved.

New Business

President Karen Wadsworth (N.H.), provided remarks on the upcoming NCSL Legislative Summit and cosponsoring a time slot.
Chair Norma Chastain (Ariz.) outlined several topics that ASLCS may be interested in cosponsoring.  Angela Andrews (NCSL) will contact the liaison and various vendors to procure an additional cosponsor.
Discussion ensued and the following topics were determined:
Emerging Technology, Parliamentary Procedure, Public Access to Legislative Records, Committee Technology and Subpoenas
Chair Norma Chastain (Ariz.) discussed the 2013 Professional Development Seminar that will be held in Sacramento, Ca.  The plenary session speakers are Bill Kennedy (Social Cognition) who will present on Wednesday and Dave Logan (Tribal Leadership) on Saturday.
Vice-Chair Paula Rossetto (Calif.) elaborated on the strengths and styles of the plenary speakers.
Suggestions were taken on topics for the concurrent sessions and it was determined that two sessions would be led by the Technology Committee, two sessions by the Support Staff Committee, and one session by the Mason's Manual Committee.  Angela Andrews (NCSL) added that it would be beneficial to include details of the session topics in the June marketing brochure.  The deadline for submitting information for the brochure is mid-May.
David Byerman (Nev.) will determine the specific topics the Technology Committee will be presenting and provide them to Angela Andrews.

Topics selected were:

  • Legislative Web Design / ADA Accessibility Compliance Issues

  • Technology 101 (iCloud, emerging technology, etc.)

  • I Wish I Had Known

  • Professional Development Opportunities (Associate Exchange Program, Scholarships, Member opportunities)

  • Masons

  • Art in Capitol Buildings (Possible Alternate)

  • International Comparative

  • CUPS - Custom Usage and Practices (Acronym Bingo, new member orientation, education, term limits)

  • Succession Planning

 Rob Hunt (Maine), the new Assistant Clerk in the Maine House introduced himself to the Committee.
70th Anniversary-themed events were discussed including the History of ASLCS and a 70th History room.  Vice-Chair Paula Rossetto (Calif.) provided some highlights of the scheduled tours and activities that will occur at the Fall PDS.


Upon a motion by Susan Schaar (Va.), seconded by Maryann Horch (Va.), the meeting was adjourned.
Respectfully submitted,
Norma Chastain (Ariz.), Program Development Chair