American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) Membership and Communication Minutes

Spring Meeting
Santa Fe, NM
April 20, 2013

Call to Order

The meeting of the Membership and Communication Committee was called to order by Johnye Bennett, Va., chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


Johnye Bennett (Va.), Chair


John Hollman (Ill.)


Joseph Carleton (Maine), Vice-Chair


Susan Kannarr (Kan.)


Catherine Hooe (Va.), Vice-Chair


Andrew Ketchings (Miss.)


Bonnie Alexander (Idaho)


Cheryl Laube (Ariz.)


Sarah Armistead (Va.)


Jeannine Layell (Va.)


Shereen Baker (Calif.)


Suzi Lowell (Alaska)


Judy Barrows (Maine)


Ann Luck (N.C.)


Joan Branson (Mo.)


Jim Schratz (Ark.)


Karen Brown (Utah)


Jackie Scott (Va.)


David Byerman (Nev.)


Ann Marie Sweeney (Pa.)


Ann Cornwell (Ark.)


Bonnie Trivette (N.C.)


Sandra Daly (Calif.)


Denise Weeks (N.C.)


Lourdes Guerra (Texas)


Jennifer Welch (Va.)


JoAnn Hedrick (Del.)


Kathy White (Mo.)


Ruby Johnson (La.)


Alan Whittington (Tenn.)


 Jennifer Novak (Idaho)


Patience Worrell (Texas)


Other members/guests in attendance included Norma Chastain, Ariz.; Yolanda Dixon, La.; Leslie Edwards, Ariz.

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Susan Kannarr, seconded by Denise Weeks, the minutes of the last meeting held on Oct. 6, 2012, during the Professional Development Seminar, in Richmond, Va., were approved.

New Business

Johnye Bennett, chair (Va.), began the meeting by discussing the availability of sponsors for new attendees. Presently she is aware of eight new ASLCS members. She recommended that we begin to recruit sponsors now for the PDS to be held in October. Cheryl Laube (Ariz.) wondered if Membership and Communication committee members were expected to be sponsors. Susan Kannarr (Kan.) suggested that there be a line item on the PDS registration form to indicate an interest in being a sponsor. Bonnie Alexander (Idaho) reminded the committee that some staff might not have approval yet to travel in the fall. Denise Weeks (N.C.) suggested that the Legislative Administrator do a feature article on sponsors.

Johnye introduced a new idea for the icebreaker at the New Attendee Orientation. New attendees and sponsors will participate in "Minute To Win It", an adaptation of the popular NBC game show. This new icebreaker was demonstrated by Johnye and received enthusiastically by the committee members. New attendees who correctly answer a question related to ASLCS will have the opportunity to compete in a 60-second "challenge" and win a prize. The competition will promote collaboration and foster new relationships. The committee members will email game questions to Johnye, focusing on ASLCS/70th anniversary/state capitols/legislative processes. A practice session will be held in Atlanta. Johnye reported that the proposed budget, pending Executive Committee approval, for NAO is $150 for supplies and $300 for refreshments.

Continuing with tradition, the pin competition winner will be announced at the State Dinner on Saturday night, following the new attendee wrap-up on Saturday afternoon.


Upon a motion by Suzi Lowell, seconded by Norma Chastain, the meeting was adjourned.
Respectfully submitted,
Cathy Hooe, Va., Vice chair