American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) Bylaws and Standing Orders Minutes

Spring Business Meeting

Santa Fe, N.M.
April 20, 2013


Call to Order

The meeting of the Bylaws and Standing Orders Committee was called to order by Sandy Tenney (Utah), committee chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


Sandy Tenney (Utah), Chair


Michael Linn (Minn.)


Jay Braxton (Va.), Vice-Chair


Suzi Lowell (Alaska)


Paul Campos (Wash.), Vice-Chair


Bill Magill (Vt.)


Judy Barrows (Maine)


Al Mathiowetz (Minn.)


Diane Bell (Fla.)


Paul Nardo (Va.)


George Bishop (Va.)


Patrick O'Donnell (Neb.)


Brad Bolin (Ill.)

Susan Schaar(Va.)


Jeffrey Finch (Va.)


Paul Smith (La.)

Janice Gadd (Utah)


Ron Smith (La.)


John Garrett (Iowa)


Patsy Spaw (Texas)


Bo Hoover (W.Va.)


Alfred Speer (La.)


Cheryl Laube (Ariz.)


Terri Spieler (Mo.)

 Other members/guests in attendance included Susan Furlong (Nev.).

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Terry Spieler (Mo.) and seconded by Susan Furlong (Nev.), the minutes of the last committee meeting held Oct., 6, 2012, during the ASLCS Professional Development Seminar (PDS) in Richmond, Va., were approved.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

Chair Tenney began the meeting with a discussion of the Jane Richards Scholarship to assist principle and associate members in participating in the Canadian-American Exchange Program. Tenney prepared a draft document for the committee to review and edit. 
The following changes were made to the draft document:

  1. In item #2 add Jane’s retirement date from the Arizona House. Cheryl Laube (Ariz.) will research the exact date and report back to Chair Tenney. Also add language to item #2 stating that Jane is an honorary member of ASLCS and Clerks-at-the-Table in Canada.

  2. Susan Schaar (Va.) suggested that the scholarship amount be increased from $500 to $1000. The committee discussed this suggestion and agreed to recommend to the Executive Committee that the scholarship amount be increased from $500 to $1000.

  3. Item #4 of the draft will read, ‘The scholarship will be funded by the Society.’

  4. Item #5 of the draft will be changed to read:

A Principal or Associate member who is interested in applying for the scholarship shall submit a letter outlining why he or she desires to be selected and how participating in the Canadian-American Exchange Program will enrich his/her professional development.

Associate members making application shall include a letter of endorsement from their Principal Clerk/Secretary. Letters of interest shall be submitted to the NCSL liaison to ASLCS who will forward the letters of application to the chair of the ASLCS Canadian-American Relations Committee no later than July 1.

The Canadian-American Relations Committee shall review applications and submit the name of its recommendation for one scholarship recipient to the ASLCS Executive Committee no later than Sept. 1. Upon approval by the Executive Committee, the president will notify the scholarship recipient at the annual Professional Development Seminar.

The committee recommended that the Canadian-American Relations Committee should write an article for the Legislative Administrator explaining the program and the scholarship.
Chair Tenney reminded the committee about the NCSL Annual Summit in Atlanta, Ga.

Terry Spieler shared with the committee that in proofing the Roster, the Roster Committee found certain errors in the Bylaws and Standing Orders. The committee determined that the errors are technical and that corrections can be made by the Roster Committee.  Susan Schaar (Va.) moved to allow the Roster Committee to make technical corrections to the standing orders and bylaws. The motion was seconded by Janice Gadd (Utah).


Upon a motion by Cheryl Laube (Ariz.) and seconded by Susan Furlong (Nev.) the meeting was adjourned.