American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) Site Selection Minutes

ASLCS Professional Development Seminar

Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, Oct. 6, 2012

Call to Order

The meeting of the Site Selection Committee was called to order by Susan Kannarr (KS), chair.


The following members of the committee were present


Susan Kannarr (KS), Chair

  Ann Luck (NC)

Liz Clark (AK), Vice-Chair

  Julie Marania (CA)

Scott Caffey (TX), Vice-Chair

  * Steve Marxhall (VT)

Mary Andrus, (UT)

  Charlotte Mary (VA)

Jocelyn Acquino (CA)

  Rosemarie Mastrandrea (CA)

Sarah Armistead (VA)

  * Carol Newton (MO)

Dave Avant (AL)

  Jennifer Novak (ID)

Shereen Baker (CA)

  * Tracy Ortiz (TX)

Johnye Bennett (VA)

  Neva Parker (CA)

Joan Branson (MO)

  * Michele Poole (NC)

Norma Chastain (AZ)

  Cooper Roberts (LA)

Ann Cornwell (AR)

  * Sherry Rodriguez (NV)

Sarah Culley (MO)

  * Paula Rossetto (CA)

Sandra Daly (CA)


Terry Rumley (NC)


Yolanda Dixon (LA)

  * Jackie Scott (VA)

Marguerite Duda (WV)

  Bonnie Trivette (NC)

Lourdes Guerra (TX)

  * Linda Tubbs (TX)

Virginia Habansky (VA)

  * Jennifer Welch, (VA)

Stephanie Hall (AK)

  Kathy White (MO)

Pat Harris (AL)

  * Alan Whittington (TN)

Nathan Hatfield (VA)

  Patience Worrell (TX)

Catherine Hooe (VA)

  Joyce Wright (AL)

Ruby Johnson (LA)

  * Michelle Wright (VA)

Ann Krekelberg (AK)


Mary Ann Krol (KY)


Jamie Kruse (NE)


Jeannine Layelle (VA)


Other members/guests in attendance included Jackie Schultz (AK), Dianne Whitaker (VA),
Virginia Edwards (VA), Tricia Vaughn (VA), Kristen Canterbury (WV), Lora Thompson (WV), Scott Kaiser, (IL),
Joan Romano (AZ), Leslie Edwards, (AZ), Crystaline Jones (AK), Martha Hopson, (AK), Gina Spartz (AK),
Sadie Ingalls (AK), Stephen Matous (VA), Maribeth Turner (VA), Charlotte May (VA), Jan Waldrop (VA),
Sue Morain (LA), Merrill LaPlante (LA), Lisa Gilmer (VA), Barbara Lecarpentier (VA), Virginia Habansky (VA),
Tara Perkinson, (VA), Londi Ensor (AK) and Polly Emerson (TX)

Approval of Minutes

On a motion by Steven Marshall (VT) and seconded by Norma Chastain (AZ), the minutes of the last meeting held on Aug. 6, 2012, in Chicago, Illinois, were adopted.

New Business

Yolanda Dixon (LA) provided an overview of the 2014 Fall PDS to be held in either Baton Rouge or New Orleans, Louisiana. The conference will be state hosted.
Liz Clark (AK) provided an overview of the 2015 Fall PDS to be held in Juneau, Alaska.  The conference will be state hosted and will occur in mid-September.

Steven Marshall (VT) suggested that an article be submitted in the Legislative Administrator providing travel information regarding flight options and expenses to the 2015 Fall PDS in Juneau, Alaska.  Scott Kaiser (IL) suggested that the article also include water route options and expenses.

President-Elect Karen Wadsworth (NH) was recognized to provide remarks.  The President-Elect explained the need to update the host state manual.  Jackie Schulz (AK) suggested that if the manual is long, that the committee break down the manual into chapters and subcommittees be appointed. Angela Andrews (NCSL) mentioned that the manual was around 30 pages long and that it would be easier to electronically share the Manual with committee members. Paula Rossetto (CA) requested that the manual include the differences between a host, hybrid, and a no-host conference. Additionally, Yolanda Dixon (LA) suggested that the manual include input from the last two host states.

Paula Rossetto (CA) provided an overview of the 2013 Fall PDS that will be held Oct. 7 - 13, 2013, in Sacramento, Calif.  ASLCS members will be staying at the Sheraton Hotel, two blocks from the Capitol.


Upon a motion by Scott Kaiser (IL) and seconded by Paula Rossetto (CA), the meeting was adjourned.