American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) Program Development Minutes

ASLCS Professional Development Seminar

Richmond, Va.

Saturday, Oct. 6, 2012

Call to Order

The meeting of the Program Development Selection Committee was called to order by Norma Chastain, AZ, Chairman at 3:45 p.m.


The following members of the committee were present:


Norma Chastain (AZ), Chair

 * Nathan Hatfield (VA)

Tisha Gieser (AK), Vice-Chair

  Catherine Hooe (VA)

Paula Rossetto (CA), Vice-Chair

  Kathryn Jackson (UT)

Bonnie Alexander (TX)

  Susan Kannarr (KS)

Tim Anderson (IL)

 * Jamie Kruse (NE)

Mary Andrus (UT)

  Cheryl Laube (AZ)

Jocelyn Acquino (CA)

 * Jeannine Layelle (VA)

Matthew Baker (NV)

  Michael Linn (MN)

Shereen Baker (CA)

 * Lia Lopes (CA)

Judy Barrows (ME)

 * Bill Magill (VT)

Lucinda Benjamin (NV)

 * Charlotte Mary (VA)

Johnye Bennett (VA)

  Rosemarie Mastrandrea (CA)

George Bishop (VA)

  Nathan Mayes (CA)

Jay Braxton (VA)

  Pat O'Donnell (NE)

Karen Brown (UT)

 * Neva Parker (CA)

Jean Burgin (KY)

 * Sue Parker (CA)

Scott Caffey (TX)

 * Michelle Poole (NC)

Jacqueline Delight (CA)

  Dawn Reese (PA)

Yolanda Dixon (LA)

  Susan Schaar (VA)

Marguerite Duda (WV)

  Jackie Scott (VA)

Brian Ebbert (CA)

  Ann Marie Sweeney (PA)

Marilyn Eddins (CO)

  Brenda Thibodeaux-Harris (CA)

Jeffrey Finch (VA)

  Bonnie Trivette (NC)

Janice Gadd (UT)

  Linda Tubbs (TX)

Chris Griesel (TX)

  Tricia Vaughan (VA)

Shelle Grim-Brooks (NV)

  Maureen Wilson (UT)

Lourdes Guerra (TX)

  Patience Worrell (TX)

Virginia Habansky (VA)

  Tammy Wright (NH)

Other members/guests in attendance included:

Crystaline Jones (AK)
Leslie Edwards (AZ)
Joan Romano (AZ)
Londi Ensor (AK)
Kristin Centerbury (WV)
Lora Thompson (WV)
Jackie Schulz (AK)
Marilyn Eddins (CO)
Geneva Tulasz (VA)
Patty Benskin (WY)
David Bortz (VA)
David Byerman (NV)
Erica Manson (VA)
Sarah Armistead (VA)
Lisa Gilmer (VA)
Amy Leach (CA)
Maryann Horch (VA)
Barbara Lecarpentier (VA)
Tara Perkinson (VA)

Chair Chastain introduced the other leadership of the committee.

Chair Chastain thanked those in attendance and noted that the committee will also be coordinating with the 70th Anniversary committee

Approval of Minutes

Minutes were approved as printed and on the website. Moved by Bill MaGill (VT), seconded by Janice Gadd (UT).

Old Business

Chair Chastain encouraged the committee members to complete and return the evaluation forms right away to enable Angela Andrews to compile and distribute the data.

New Business

Chair Chastain asked that committee members be willing to serve as moderator or panelist, as well as providing ideas for panels. If you are interested, please note this on the comment sheet or email her at The program for the 79th Professional Development Seminar will be society-driven and the committee will work closely with the Support Staff committee and the Technology committee for the concurrent and breakout sessions.

Chair Chastain asked for discussion and a show of hands regarding the preference of a large group breakout session for the Support Staff Concurrent Session, or small group breakout sessions during that time. There was a show of preference for the three large group format of this year's meeting.  Cheryl Laube (AZ) noted that new attendees historically have preferred to network with others in similar positions (agendas, journal, etc.) and asked if it would be possible to do both large and small group formats. Norma Chastain (AZ) suggested the preference for a small group format could be achieved by seating arrangements during breakfast to facilitate informal mingling and discussion. Bill MaGill (VT) was concerned about confidentiality and prefers a closed-door format. Nathan Hatfield (VA) pointed out that having more small groups would necessitate more moderators, and suggested alternating large versus small groups each year. Judy Barrows (ME) prefers small groups which provide more opportunity for discussion. Neva Parker (CA) suggested a large group which breaks out into smaller groups within the session. Karen Brown (UT) suggested adding jobs to each entry in the member directory so new attendees can informally meet those in similar positions. 

Karen Wadsworth (NH), incoming president, joined the meeting and noted that she had also heard a suggestion about similar jobs meeting in small groups. She added that she is looking forward to next year's meeting and acknowledged the numerous committees that will be coordinating for the program.

Vice-Chair Paula Rossetto (CA) informed the committee of the planning that the California Host Committee has completed and the items they are continuing to work on.

Discussion ensued on the topic of speakers for the 2013 Professional Development Seminar. The committee was asked to email Norma with any suggestions that they had.


Upon a motion by Cheryl Laube (AZ), seconded by David Byerman (NV), the meeting was adjourned.