American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) Bylaws and Standing Orders Minutes

ASLCS Professional Development Seminar

Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, Oct. 6, 2012 

Call to Order

The meeting of the Bylaws and Standing Orders Committee was called to order by Sandy Tenney (UT), Chair.


The following members of the committee were present: 


Sandy Tenney (UT), Chair


Michael Linn (MN)


Jay Braxton (VA), Vice-Chair


Suzi Lowell (AK)


Paul Campos (WA), Vice-Chair


Bill Magill (VT)


Judy Barrows (ME)


Al Mathiowetz (MN)


Diane Bell (FL)


Paul Nardo (VA)


George Bishop (VA)


Patrick O'Donnell (NE)


Brad Bolin (IL)


Susan Schaar(VA)


Jeffrey Finch (VA)


Paul Smith (LA)


Janice Gadd (UT)


Ron Smith (LA)


John Garrett (IA)


Patsy Spaw (TX)


Bo Hoover (WV)

 * Alfred Speer (LA)

Cheryl Laube (AZ)

 * Terri Spieler (MO)

 Others attending were: JoAnn Hedrick (DE), Susan Furlong (NV) and Geneva Tulasz (VA)

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Alfred ‘Butch’ Speer (LA) seconded by Susan Furlong (NV), the minutes of the last meeting held Aug. 6, 2012, during the NCSL Legislative Summit in Chicago, IL were approved. 

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

 Chair Tenney began the meeting by having members of the committee introduce themselves. Chair Tenney read the committee description and encouraged members to familiarize themselves with the society’s bylaws, which are printed in the roster.
There was a discussion of the concurrent session sponsored by the previous Bylaws and Standing Orders Committee at the PDS.  The committee agreed that the session was helpful and informative. Chair Tenney recommended that we repeat the session once every three or four years.
President-elect Karen Wadsworth spoke briefly to the committee.  She shared that the executive committee would be sending some items for the committee to discuss very soon.   


Upon a motion by Janice Gadd (UT) seconded by Paul Smith (NH) the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Jay Braxton (VA), Vice Chair