American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) Legislative Administrator Minutes

ALSCS Professional Development Seminar
Richmond, Virginia

Saturday, Oct. 6, 2012

Call to Order

Hobie Lehman (VA), Chair of the Legislative Administrator Committee, called the meeting to order.



Hobie Lehman (VA), Chair

  Cal Ludeman (MN)

Maryann Horch (VA), Vice-Chair

  * Bernadette McNulty (CA)

Rose Ramsey (VA), Vice-Chair

  * Dave Miller (MO)

Tim Anderson (IL)

  Patrick O'Donnell (NE)

Jean Burgin (KY)

  * Neva Marie Parker (CA)

Scott Caffey (TX)

  * Gail Romanowski (MN)

Jacqueline Delight (CA)

  Robert Taylor (OR)

Yolanda Dixon (LA)


Marilyn Eddins (CO)


Shelle Grim-Brooks (NV)


Also Attending:  Bladen Finch (VA), Ginny Edwards (VA), John McKay (CO), Cindi Markwell (CO), Polly Emerson (TX), Sylvia Brown (NV),
Ruby Johnson (LA), Maribeth Turner (VA); Stephen Matous (VA); Nick Galvin (VA)

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Ginny Edwards (VA), seconded by Bernadette McNulty (CA), the committee approved the minutes of the last meeting held Aug. 6, 2012, during the NCSL Legislative Summit in Chicago, IL.


Committee members discussed a wide range of article ideas including new voting systems, new clerk biographies, the Associate Exchange Program, “Ask Mr. Mason,” new member orientations as well as an article for the upcoming meeting in Juno.
Committee members also discussed the budget, ways to save money, printing ‘in house’, color v black and white photographs, etc. 
The Chair asked for and received volunteers for the editorial board including: Ginny Edwards (VA), Nick Galvin (VA), Gail Romanowski (MN) and Dianne Whitaker (VA)


Upon a motion by Rose Ramsey (VA), seconded by Neva Parker (CA), the committee adjourned.