American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLC) Support Staff Committee Meeting Minutes

Summer Meeting
Chicago, Ill.
Aug. 6, 2012

Call to Order
The meeting of the Support Staff Committee was called to order by Tisha Gieser, AK, Committee Chair.
The following members of the committee were present:


Tisha Gieser, Chair (AK)


Anna Hanback (VA)


D. Hobie Lehman (VA), Vice Chair


Nathan Hatfield (VA)


Paula Rossetto (CA), Vice Chair


Daniel Hicks (TN)


Mick Bailey (WV)


Maryann Horch (VA)


Matthew Baker (NV)


Kathy Jackson (UT)


Shereen Baker (CA)


Jamie Kruse (NE)


Cindy Benjamin (NV)


Michael Linn (MN)


George Bishop (VA)


Ann Luck (NC)


Julie A. Bochat (MO)


Bill MaGill (VT)


Joan Branson (MO)


Melanie Newby (VA)


Karen Brown (UT)


Tracy Ortiz (TX)


Paul Campos (WA)


Tara Perkinson (VA)


Kristin Canterbury (WV)


Rose Ramsey (VA)


Sarah Culley (MO)


Dianne Russell (NC)


Marguerite Duda (WV)


Ron L. Smith (LA)


Joy Engelby (MO)


Lori Summers (WV)


Jeff Finch (VA)


David G. Surdez (MN)


Janice Gadd (UT)


Dianne Whitaker (VA0


Virginia Habansky (VA)


Crissy Wilson (MO)


Stephanie Hall (AK)


Maureen Wilson (UT)




Joyce Wright (AL)


Other members/guests in attendance included Linda Tubbs (TX), John Okecholcello (South Sudan) and Megan Consedine (PA).
Approval of Minutes
Upon a motion by Nathan Hatfield (VA), seconded by Hobie Lehman (VA), the minutes of the last meeting held April 21, 2012 during the Spring Meeting, in Phoenix, Ariz., were approved.
Old Business
Overview of the Associate Exchange – Michelle Wright (VA) visited the Louisiana Senate and wrote a nice article about the experience (printed in the Legislative Administrator). Julie Bochat (MO) also visited Louisiana thru the exchange program. Brad Metcalf (KY) was selected as a candidate, but was not able to attend. Chair Gieser asked the committee if his acceptance should be carried over or if he should reapply if he wants to attend next year. The committee recommended he reapply if he would like to be considered next year.
New Business
Chair Gieser asked for feedback on the idea of increasing the award per person for the Associate Exchange Program with the hope of encouraging greater participation. Janice Gadd (UT) liked the idea and thinks it may help the Program be more competitive and open it up to more applicants. George Bishop agreed that offering more money would increase the possible pool of applicants.
Legislative Expo – The "Tools for a Successful Session" Leg. Expo will be 10 a.m.-noon on Friday, Oct. 5,  in Richmond. Be sure to get your state involved and bring items to show and tell.
The Support Staff concurrent-sponsored session will be Succession Planning/Cross Training. Possible panelists include someone from Connecticut, as it has a formal cross training program. Paula Rossetto (CA), Susan Furlong (NV), and Janice Gadd (UT) were recommended as contacts for additional panelists.
Co-facilitators for the Staff breakouts at the Fall Meeting in Richmond will be Melanie Newby (VA) for Support Services and Nathan Hatfield (VA) for Legislative Operations, in addition to two other individuals yet to be determined. The committee discussed emailing participants to solicit questions ahead of time. At this time, the committee left the approach up to the co-facilitators of each breakout.
Upon a motion by Hobie Lehman (VA), seconded by George Bishop (VA), the meeting was adjourned.
Respectfully submitted,
Maryann Horch, VA