Technology Committee Meeting Minutes

ASLCS Professional Development Seminar
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
April 16, 2011

Call to Order

The meeting of the Technology Committee was called to order by Maryann Horch (VA), Chair.


The following members of the committee were present: (Check members present)


Maryann Horch, Chair (VA)


Brad Hendrickson (WA)


Neva-Marie Parker, Vice-Chair (CA)


Crystaline Jones (AK)


Bonnie Alexander (ID)


Susan Kannarr (KS)


Stephen Arias (NM)


Amy Leach (CA)


Mick Bailey (WV)


Tara Perkinson (VA)


Melissa Bybee-Fields (KY)


Jeffrey Renk (WI)


Bernard Dean (WA)


Jim Schratz (AR)


Polly Emerson (TX)


Scott Sloan (TN)


Lourdes Guerra (TX)


Tricia Vaughan (VA)




Peter Wattson (MN)

Other members/guests in attendance included Angi Murphy (VA), David Byerman (NV), Alan Whittington (TN), Scott Kaiser (IN), Robert Marchant (WI), and Angela Andrews (NCSL).

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Alan Whittington, seconded by David Byerman, the minutes of the last meeting held September 11, 2010, during the ASLCS Fall Professional Development Seminar, in Milwaukee, WI, were approved.

New Business

The committee discussed possible topics for the 2011 Professional Development Seminar (PDS). David Byerman suggested a session regarding Twitter. He has started using Twitter with the Nevada Senate and helped write a policy on its usage. One of the way he uses Twitter is to explain legislative terms that come up during session (ex. – a meeting at the bar is a meeting at the desk). He also Tweets about "Official (Legislative) Days". He agreed to be a panelist for the Fall PDS in Branson.

Other ideas the group discussed included:

  • Facebook Campaign issues
  • Travel and per diem software ideas
  • Postal accounts
  • Chambers that stream their session (do they archive, etc.)


Upon a motion by Alan Whittington, seconded by David Byerman, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Maryann Horch, VA, Chair