ASLCS Canadian-American Relations Committee Meeting Minutes

Professional Development Seminar
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
September 11, 2010 


Call to Order

The meeting of the Canadian-American Relations Committee was called to order by Patsy Spaw, Committee Chair. 


The following members of the committee were present: 


Patsy Spaw (TX), Chair


Bruce Jamerson (VA)


Diane Bell (FL), Vice-Chair


Crystaline Jones (AK)


Brad Hendrickson (WA), Vice-Chair


Tim Kehoe (CT)


Robert Altmann (WV)


Ann Krekelberg (AK)


Paul Campos (WA)


Dowe Littleton (AL)


Laura Clemens (OH)


Suzi Lowell (AK)


Ann Cornwell (AR)


Millie MacFarland (ME)


Bernard Dean (WA)


Steven Marshall (VT)


Polly Emerson (TX)


Annette Moore (UT)


Londi Ensor (AK)


Cooper Roberts (LA)


Jeff Finch (VA)


Obie Rutledge (OR)


John Garrett (VA)


Alfred Speer (LA)


Greg Gray (WV)


Karen Wadsworth (NH)


Lourdes Guerra (TX)


Denise Weeks (NC)


Judy Hall (OR)


Alan Whittington (TN)


Pat Harris (AL)


Jeannine Wood (ID)


Bo Hoover (WV)


Joyce Wright (AL)


Russell Humphrey (TN)



 Other members/guests in attendance included Debbie Deller, Toronto, Ontario, Canada and Marian Johnston, Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Bruce Jamerson, seconded by John Garrett, the minutes of the last meeting held in Louisville, Kentucky during the NCSL Legislative Summit were approved. 

Old Business

Chairman Patsy Spaw recognized Pat Harris to give the committee an update on the planning of the Joint Canadian-American Meeting, October 13-16, 2011, in Montgomery, Alabama. The hotel for the meeting will be the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel at a rate of $119.00 a night. All meetings will be held at the State Capitol which is three to four blocks from the hotel. Arrangements are being made to have a limited number of tickets available to the Alabama SEC football game if held in Tuscaloosa for attendees desiring to attend the game. 

Pat Harris has asked permission to extend an invitation to all international guests to attend the meeting. He also indicated he would like approval to invite more ASLCS members than is currently allowed in the Standing Orders. At this time, the Standing Orders allow two ASLCS members from each chamber to attend the meeting, and Executive Committee approval would be required before an invitation could be exended. 

Chairman Spaw appointed Pat Harris to be in charge of planning the social program for the meeting and the following subcommittee to develop the program: Chairman, Diane Bell, Dowe Littleton, Denise Weeks, John Garrett and Joyce Wright. Debbie Deller and Marian Johnston will serve as liaisons to the program subcommittee. 

Chairman Patsy Spaw reported that she, Pat Harris and Joann Hedrick represented ASLCS at the Clerks at the Table Meeting held in Kananaskis, Alberta, Canada August 2-6, 2010. The meeting was very well attended and the program topics were: Use of Social Media; Dealing with the Tsunami of Demographic Change; Parliamentary Outreach Programmes: Remote Areas Parliamentary Education; Parliaments' Power to Call for Papers - Afghan Detainee Documents; Statutory Officers, the Work of the Statutory Officers' Review Panel in British Columbia; "MLA Spending Scandal"; Changing the Speaker's Administration; Changes Made in Recent Legislatures to the Management of Question Period; Parliamentary Privilege in the Canadian Context: An Alternative Perspective. As you can tell it was a very interesting and informative agenda and meeting. 

New Business

Discussion was held concerning international guests attending ASLCS Annual Meetings. The committee agreed that they would like to hold a small reception for the international guests at the first of the meeting. This would be co-sponsored by the International Communications and Development Committee and the Canadian-American Relations Committee. The following committee has been appointed to coordinate and plan the reception: Patsy Spaw, Denise Weeks, Ann Cornwell, and Crys Jones. 


Upon a motion by Denise Weeks, seconded by Pat Harris, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Ann Cornwell (AR), Recorder