NCSL Legislative Summit
Louisville, KY     
July 25, 2010


Call to Order

The meeting of the Support Staff Committee was called to order by Jay Braxton (VA), Committee Chair. 


The following members of the committee were present:


Jay Braxton (VA), Chair


Jamie Kruse (NE)


Alan Whittington (TN), Vice-Chair


Cheryl Laube (AZ)


Emily Howard (VA), Vice-Chair


Lydia Lee (NV)


Matthew Baker (NV)


Michael Linn (MN)


Lucinda Benjamin (NV)


Patty Lung (VA)


Michael Burkhart (WV)


Carol Newton (MO)


Paul Campos (WA)


Trish OBrion (VA)


Norma Chastain (AZ)


Jeffrey Renk (WI)


Sarah Culley (MO)


Hallie Rice (LA)


Marguerite Duda (WV)


Cooper Roberts (LA)


Burney Durham (TN)


Obie Rutledge (OR)


Jeff Finch (VA)


Lori Summers (WV)


Tisha Gieser (AK)


Lora Thompson (WV)


Jane Gill (NV)


Linda Tubbs (TX)


Virginia Habansky (VA)


Tricia Vaughan (VA)


Stephanie Hall (AK)


Susan Whitford (NV)


Anna Hanback (VA)


Jeanine Wittenberg (NV)


Nathan Hatfield (VA)


Joyce Wright (AL)


Terry Jarrett (WV)




Other members/guests in attendance included Gina Shaffer (AL), Ann Carmichael (AL), Joy Murphy (AL), Tara Perkinson (VA), and Maryann Horch (VA). 

Approval of Minutes

Upon a motion by Tara Perkinson (VA), seconded by Linda Tubbs (TX), the minutes of the last meeting held April 10, 2010, at the ASLCS Spring Meeting in New York City, NY were approved.

Old Business

Jay Braxton briefly reviewed previous decisions and plans made by the committee for the ASLCS Professional Development Seminar to be held September 8-12 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. This included a review of the changes in Breakout Sessions and plans for the Legislative Expo. 

New Business

After discussion, a decision was made to combine the Assistants Breakout with both the Legislative Operations Staff and the Administrative and Support Services Breakouts, allowing the Assistants to choose which to attend based on job functions. Jay Braxton announced that moderators for the Breakout Sessions had been finalized. Greg Gray (WV) and Rob Marchant (WI) will moderate the breakout session for Principals. Legislative Operations Staff will be moderated by Jeff Finch (VA) and Norma Chastain (AZ) and Administrative and Support Services by Melanie Reekes (VA). 

The flyer advertising the Legislative Expo was exhibited and will be at each place at the business luncheon. There are seventeen exhibit slots available at the Expo. 


Upon a motion by Jeff Finch (VA), seconded by Burney Durham (TN), the meeting was adjourned. 

Respectfully submitted,
Linda Tubbs (TX), Recorder