2010 (July) Inside the Legislative Process Committee Meeting Minutes


American Society of Legislative Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS)

Louisville, Ky.
July 25, 2010

Call to Order

The meeting of the Inside the Legislative Process Committee was called to order by Adanna Hydes (KY), vice chair.


The following members of the committee were present:


William MaGill (VT), Chair


Susan Kannarr (KS)


Steve James (MA), Vice Chair


Patty Lung (VA)


Adanna Hydes (KY), Vice Chair


Cindi Markwell (CO)


Jane Atkinson (VA)


Pat Mau-Shimizu (HI)


Lucinda Benjamin (NV)


Bernadette McNulty (CA)


Jean Burgin (KY)


Brad Metcalf (KY)


Melissa Bybee-Fields (KY)


Sandra Morris (KY)


Carmen Cauthen (NC)


Lenore Naranjo (NM)


Tisha Gieser (AK)


Hallie Rice (LA)


Janet Hawkins (IA)


Don Richardson (MS)


Donna Robinson Holiday (KY)


Sharon Soliere (AZ)


Chewetta Johnson (MS)


Robert Ward (FL)


Ruby Johnson (LA)


Peter Wattson (MN)


Laurel Johnston (HI)


Jeanine Wittenberg (NV)

Other members/guests in attendance included Angi Murphy (VA), Susan Furlong Reil (NV), Chad Marnger (Canada), and Brenda Erickson, NCSL.

Approval of Minutes

As there was not a quorum, the minutes from the Spring Meeting held in New York were passed over.

Old Business

Brenda Erickson brought the committee members up to date on the status of the ILP surveys sent out June 11, 2010, to the principal clerks, secretaries, or selected legislative research directors. The first deadline was July 16. Brenda reported which states have returned their surveys. She will be sending out the survey again in early August and will then give an update on those states whose surveys are still outstanding. Committee members in attendance volunteered to contact states who have not responded by mid-August with a gentle reminder and request to please submit their responses.

Committee members not in attendance may be contacted to assist in communicating with states who have not responded to the second survey request.

New Business

There was no new business.


Upon a motion by Angi Murphy (VA), seconded by Jean Burgin (KY) the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Adanna Hydes (KY), Vice Chair