Skip to main content


The mission of NCSL’s Nuclear Legislative Working Group (NLWG) is to provide legislative members with the opportunity to learn about the cleanup of federal nuclear weapons production and research facilities, the transportation and storage of radioactive wastes, and nuclear energy issues that affect our nation and states. The Working Group helps guide NCSL policies that serve as the basis for NCSL’s advocacy before the federal government on behalf of state legislatures. The NLWG is made up of legislators from select states that are appointed by state legislative leadership. The Working Group is supported by funding from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Environmental Management and Office of Nuclear Energy.

Expand All

Officers and Members


  • Co-Chair: Senator Mattie Hunter, Illinois
  • Co-Chair: Senator Matt Boehnke, Washington


  • Representative Mike Prax, Alaska
  • Representative George Rauscher, Alaska
  • Senator Click Bishop, Alaska
  • Senator Cathy Giessel, Alaska
  • Representative Gail Griffin, Arizona
  • Senator Frank Pratt, Arizona
  • Representative Matt Duffield, Arkansas
  • Representative Rick Beck, Arkansas
  • Representative Aaron Pilkington, Arkansas
  • Senator Toni Atkins, California
  • Senator John Laird, California
  • Representative Raghib Allie-Brennan, Connecticut
  • Representative Jonathan Steinberg, Connecticut
  • Representative Alex Valdez, Colorado
  • Senator Max Burns, Georgia
  • Senator Harold Jones, Georgia
  • Representative Chuck Martin, Georgia
  • Representative Bill Werkheiser, Georgia
  • Senator Dave Lent, Idaho
  • Senator Mark Harris, Idaho
  • Senator Mattie Hunter, Illinois
  • Representative Leo Delperdang, Kansas
  • Representative Mark Schreiber, Kansas
  • Senator Mike Thompson, Kansas
  • Senator Danny Carroll, Kentucky
  • Representative Suzanne Miles, Kentucky
  • Representative Randy Bridges, Kentucky
  • Senator Benjamin Brooks, Maryland
  • Senator Katherine Klausmeier, Maryland
  • Representative Patty Acomb, Minnesota
  • Representative Jamie Long, Minnesota
  • Representative John Black, Missouri
  • Senator Travis Fitzwater, Missouri
  • Representative Garry Parry, Montana
  • Representative Katie Zolnikov, Montana
  • Senator Christopher Pope, Montana
  • Senator Jason Small, Montana
  • Assemblywoman Natha Anderson, Nevada
  • Assemblyman Gregory Hafen, Nevada
  • Senator Dallas Harris, Nevada
  • Assemblyman Howard Watts, Nevada
  • Assemblymember Wayne DeAngelo, New Jersey
  • Senator Bob Smith, New Jersey
  • Senator Brenda McKenna, New Mexico
  • Representative Eliseo Alcon, New Mexico
  • Representative Cathrynn N. Brown, New Mexico
  • Representative Christine Chandler, New Mexico
  • Representative Meredith Dixon, New Mexico
  • Representative Matthew McQueen, New Mexico
  • Representative Andrea Romero, New Mexico
  • Senator Jeff Steinborn, New Mexico
  • Senator David Craven, North Carolina
  • Senator Todd Johnson, North Carolina
  • Representative Charlie Miller, North Carolina
  • Representative Erin Pare, North Carolina
  • Senator Lew Frederick, Oregon
  • Senator William "Bill" Hansell, Oregon
  • Senator Ryan Aument, Pennsylvania
  • Representative Joshua Kail, Pennsylvania
  • Representative Thomas Mehaffie III, Pennsylvania
  • Senator Thomas Alexander, South Carolina
  • Representative Sylleste Davis, South Carolina
  • Senator Rusty Crowe, Tennessee
  • Representative John Ragan, Tennessee
  • Representative Sam McKenzie, Tennessee
  • Senator Ken Yager, Tennessee
  • Representative Brooks Landgraf, Texas
  • Representative Ed Thompson, Texas
  • Senator Curt Bramble, Utah
  • Senator David Hinkins, Utah
  • Representative Steven Lund, Utah
  • Senator Jeremy McPike, Virginia
  • Delegate Kayla Young, West Virginia
  • Delegate Clay Riley, West Virginia
  • Senator Matt Boehnke, Washington
  • Representative Skyler Rude, Washington
  • Representative Donald Burkhart, Wyoming
  • Representative Lloyd Larsen, Wyoming
  • Senator Dan Dockstader, Wyoming

Related Resources

Human-Driven Physical Threats to Energy Infrastructure

From simple trespassing and acts of vandalism to more serious attacks on energy infrastructure with rifles, explosives or other destructive devices, states need to be aware of and prepared for physical threats perpetrated by humans.
  • Contact NCSL

  • For more information on this topic, use this form to reach NCSL staff.