The NCSL Blog


By Megan McClure

The Legislative Research Librarians and NCSL announce the winners of the 2019 Notable Document Award winners!

Each year the Legislative Research Librarians (LRL) professional staff association sponsors the competition for outstanding state and legislative documents.

The purpose of the award is to formally recognize excellence in documents or publications that explore topics of interest to legislators and legislative staff, present substantive material in an outstanding format and advertise the extensive range of information available to legislators and staff.

This year’s selection committee was composed of Elizabeth Lincoln, Minnesota, chair; Eric Glover, Idaho; Ingrid Hernquist, New Jersey; Molly Riley, Minnesota; and Jenna Steward, Louisiana. Fourteen documents, in nine categories from 11 states, were chosen out of 53 total submissions from across the nation.

All documents submitted were evaluated using set criteria, such as: significantly contributes to knowledge of concern to legislators, is innovative in presentation of material, attempts to provide balance and perspective from various sides in the political spectrum, etc.

The 2019 Notable Document Award submissions covered a breadth of topics ranging from election security in Kansas and the Delaware Legislative Drafting Manual, to assessing the potential impact of regulated marijuana in New York and so much more.

The winners will be awarded certificates and recognized during the NDA Award Ceremony, Aug. 7 at 7:30 a.m. during the NCSL Legislative Summit in Nashville, Tenn. Please join NCSL in congratulating this year’s winners!

Posted in: Legislative Staff
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Subscribe to the NCSL Blog

Click on the RSS feed at left to add the NCSL Blog to your favorite RSS reader. 

About the NCSL Blog

This blog offers updates on the National Conference of State Legislatures' research and training, the latest on federalism and the state legislative institution, and posts about state legislators and legislative staff. The blog is edited by NCSL staff and written primarily by NCSL's experts on public policy and the state legislative institution.