The NCSL Blog


By Jane Carroll Andrade

What constitutes a winning website? The answers are as diverse as the 50 states.

Paul Pak accepts the Online Democracy Award from Chuck Trusdell at the NCSL Legislative Summit in 2018.Just look at past winners of the NCSL Online Democracy Award. The graphically pleasing budget tracking feature that makes the budget process transparent and easy to understand was part of why the Massachusetts Legislature’s website won last year. In 2017, judges were impressed with the live-chat feature and comprehensive interface designed to reach a geographically spread-out population on the Alaska Legislature’s winning website.

NCSL is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Online Democracy Award. If you are proud of your legislature, chamber or caucus website, please enter to win no later than Friday, April 12.

Now in its 14th year, the NCSL Online Democracy Award recognizes a state legislative website that stands out for making democracy user-friendly. Sponsored by NCSL's Legislative Information and Communications Staff Section(LINCS) and the National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT), the award will be presented at NCSL’s 2019 Legislative Summit, Aug. 5-8 in Nashville, Tenn.

Jane Carroll Andrade is a communications program director and liaison to the Legislative Information and Communications Staff association.

Posted in: Legislative Staff
Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Subscribe to the NCSL Blog

Click on the RSS feed at left to add the NCSL Blog to your favorite RSS reader. 

About the NCSL Blog

This blog offers updates on the National Conference of State Legislatures' research and training, the latest on federalism and the state legislative institution, and posts about state legislators and legislative staff. The blog is edited by NCSL staff and written primarily by NCSL's experts on public policy and the state legislative institution.