The NCSL Blog


By Molly Ramsdell

Congratulations to all the newly elected and returning members of Congress who are former state legislators.

U.S. CapitolSince the 109th Congress (2005-2007), the number of state legislators in Congress has ranged between 48 and 51 percent; for the 116th Congress that number has dropped to just under 46 percent. 

Looking closer at the 116th Congress, 49 states have at least one former state legislator serving in either the House or Senate, Delaware being the exception. In total, the 116th Congress has 27 new members who are former state legislators.

In the Senate:

  • Krysten Sinema (D-Ariz.); moved from the House
  • Mike Braun (R-Ind.)
  • Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.); moved from the House

In the House:

  • Jason Crow (D-Colo.)
  • Ross Spano (R-Fla.)
  • Greg Steube (R-Fla.)
  • Michael San Nicolas (D-Guam)
  • Ed Case (D-Hawaii)
  • Russ Fulcher (R-Idaho)
  • Jim Baird (R-Ind.)
  • Jared Golden (D-Maine)
  • Rashida Tlaib (D-Mich.)
  • Ilhan Omar (D-Minn.)
  • Steven Horsford (D-Nev.)
  • Chris Pappas (D-N.H.)
  • Jeff Van Drew (D-N.J.)
  • Anthony Brindisi (D-N.Y.)
  • Kelly Armstrong (R-N.D.)
  • Madeleine Dean (D-Penn.)
  • Guy Reschenthaler (R-Penn.)
  • Tim Burchett (R-Tenn.)
  • Mark Green (R-Tenn.)
  • Sylvia Garcia (D-Texas)
  • Ben McAdams (D-Utah)
  • Ben Cline (R-Va.)
  • Jennifer Wexton (D-Va.)
  • Carol Miller (R-W.Va.)

Check out the full list of all the former state legislators in the 116th Congress.

Molly Ramsdell is the director of NCSL's Washington, D.C., office.

Email Molly

Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Subscribe to the NCSL Blog

Click on the RSS feed at left to add the NCSL Blog to your favorite RSS reader. 

About the NCSL Blog

This blog offers updates on the National Conference of State Legislatures' research and training, the latest on federalism and the state legislative institution, and posts about state legislators and legislative staff. The blog is edited by NCSL staff and written primarily by NCSL's experts on public policy and the state legislative institution.