The NCSL Blog

09

By Kyle Ingram

NCSL partnered with the Council of State Governments to convene a national task force focused on state policy targeting workforce development and employment for people with disabilities.

Work Matters report coverThis task force effort brought together nearly 40 state legislators, legislative staffers and state executive branch officials to develop the sound bipartisan state policy options to address a number of barriers to employment and economic security commonly experienced by people with disabilities.

These state policy options are outlined in the recently released “Work Matters: A Framework for States on Workforce Development for People with Disabilities.

To help further the conversation started in Work Matters, NCSL is hosting a webinar entitled “Disabilities Employment 101: What State Legislators Need to Know.”

This webinar is designed to examine some of the themes of the Work Matters framework and explore policy trends related to disabilities employment issues. Attendees will also be introduced to current research and demographic data resources that can support their policymaking efforts and will have the opportunity to participate in a question and answer session with the webinar panelists.  

This free webinar, to be held on Thursday, Jan. 19—3 p.m. ET/ 2 p.m. CT/ 1 p.m. MT/ Noon PT—is targeted at all state legislators, legislative staff, and other state policymakers. Attendees can register for this online webinar through the registration link on the webinar page. Attendees who are not current NCSL members will need to create a NCSL account before registering for the webinar.  

Kyle Ingram is a policy specialist at NCSL specializing in disability employment issues.

Email Kyle

Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Subscribe to the NCSL Blog

Click on the RSS feed at left to add the NCSL Blog to your favorite RSS reader. 

About the NCSL Blog

This blog offers updates on the National Conference of State Legislatures' research and training, the latest on federalism and the state legislative institution, and posts about state legislators and legislative staff. The blog is edited by NCSL staff and written primarily by NCSL's experts on public policy and the state legislative institution.