The NCSL Blog


By Jane Carroll Andrade

“Warm and welcoming” were the words used to describe the Tennessee General Assembly’s website, 2015 winner of the NCSL Online Democracy Award. In 2014, judges called the Utah Legislature’s winning website “an information powerhouse.” If you are proud of your legislature, chamber or caucus’ website, please enter to win this prestigious annual award!

Pictured, from left at NCSL's 201`5 Legislative Summit, Vinay Dattu, director, Legislative Information Services, Tennessee General Assembly; Margaret 'Peggy' Piety, staff attorney, Legislative Services Agency, Indiana, and immediate past NCSL staff chair; and Russell Humphrey, chief clerk of the Senate, Tennessee General Assembly.The Online Democracy Award recognizes a state legislative website that stands out for making democracy user-friendly. Sponsored by NCSL's Legislative Information and Communications Staff Section (LINCS) and National Association of Legislative Information Technology (NALIT), the award will be presented at NCSL’s 2016 Legislative Summit, Aug. 8-11 in Chicago.

Sites are judged on their design, content and technology by a committee composed of legislative staff from previously winning states. This year’s committee consists of Doug Farr and Ric Cantrell from Utah, and Russell Humphrey, Vinay Dattu and Andre Carpenter of Tennessee. Visit our Web page for details on criteria and eligibility.

Nominations for the award are now being accepted online until April 29. It’s easy to apply. It’s hard to pick a winner. But maybe, just maybe, your state will be the one to make room in its trophy case this year.

Jane Carroll Andrade, a program director in NCSL’s Communications division, is liaison to the LINCS staff section.

Email Jane

Actions: E-mail | Permalink |

Subscribe to the NCSL Blog

Click on the RSS feed at left to add the NCSL Blog to your favorite RSS reader. 

About the NCSL Blog

This blog offers updates on the National Conference of State Legislatures' research and training, the latest on federalism and the state legislative institution, and posts about state legislators and legislative staff. The blog is edited by NCSL staff and written primarily by NCSL's experts on public policy and the state legislative institution.