Announcement | 2021 NCSL Legislative Staff Nominating Committee


Legislative Staff Recruitment |
2021-2022 NCSL Executive Committee

To: All interested legislative staff

From: Martha Wigton, NCSL staff chair, director of the Georgia House Budget Research Office

NCSL's 2021 Legislative Staff Nominating Committee is seeking nominations for legislative staff to serve on the NCSL Executive Committee as staff vice chair or at-large members. The Executive Committee serves as the governing body of the organization, providing strategic focus in terms of mission, leadership vision and policies. This includes developing and further enhancing the programs that support the work of legislative staff across the country. The task of the 2021 Legislative Staff Nominating Committee, which will meet at the NCSL Legislative Summit in Tampa, Fla. on Nov. 3-4, is to nominate a slate of 16 members and three officers of the NCSL Executive Committee for the conference year 2021-2022.  

There are three vacancies among the at-large legislative staff positions on the Executive Committee this year. The vacancies are created by Executive Committee members reaching their limit of three consecutive one-year terms or having declined to seek another one-year term.

Legislative staff interested in serving on the 2021-2022 NCSL Executive Committee must review the Nominating Procedures information and write a letter of declaration, which should be postmarked or electronically transmitted by the following deadline dates. Declarations and letters of support must be addressed to Patrick O'Donnell, Chair, NCSL 2021 Legislative Staff Nominating Committee, in care of the NCSL office in Washington, D.C., at this address. NCSL will acknowledge receipt and notify all members of the nominating committee.

Names of legislative staff featured in the video in order of appearance are listed below,

Deadlines: Letters of Declaration and Support

  • Staff Vice Chair Candidates: The letter of declaration must be postmarked or electronically transmitted no later than Sept. 3, 2021.
  • At-Large Membership Candidates: The letter of declaration must be postmarked or electronically transmitted no later than Sept. 20, 2021.
  • Letters of Support: All letters of support must be postmarked or electronically transmitted no later than Oct. 19, 2021.

Submit all letters to NCSL using the following address:

Patrick O'Donnell, Chair
NCSL Legislative Staff Nominating Committee
Attn: Jackie Harrison
National Conference of State Legislatures
444 North Capitol Street, NW, Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
or email to:
or fax to: 202-559-3355

Legislative Staff At-Large Members: Changes on NCSL's Executive Committee 2021-2022 Conference Year
Vacancies (3) Returning Members (13)

Members Completing Three-Year Term (2)

Charlotte Carter-Yamauchi, Hawaii

Jennifer Jackson, Texas





Members not returning for another year (1)

Natalie Mullis, Colorado


Tim Bommel, Missouri
Jon Courtney, New Mexico

Matt Gehring, Minnesota
Aurora Hauke, Alaska
Scott Kaiser, Illinois
Susan Kannarr, Kansas
Othni J. Lathram, Alabama

Sabrina Lewellen, Arkansas

Rich Olsen, West Virginia
Anthony "Steve" Pike, Virginia

Anne Sappenfeld, Wisconsin
John Snyder, Kentucky

Betsy Theroux, Georgia

Questions?  Contact NCSL: Molly Ramsdell, 202-624-3584 or Angela Andrews, 303-856-1349

Featured in the video in order of appearance: Linda Triplett, Performance Accountability Director, Legislative PPER Committee, Mississippi Legislature (retired); Martha Wigton, Director, House Budget and Research Office, Georgia General Assembly; Jen Carlton, Deputy Chief of Staff, Senate Majority Caucus, Indiana General Assembly (retired); Wayne Kidd, Audit Supervisor, Legislative Auditor General’s Office, Utah Legislature (retired); Jennifer Jones, Director, Sunset Advisory Commission, Texas Legislature; Joe Ayala, Principal Deputy Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Counsel, California State Legislature (retired); Chuck Truesdell, Fiscal Analyst, Office of Budget Review, Legislative Research Commission, Kentucky General Assembly (retired); Jon Heining, General Counsel, Legislative Council, Texas Legislature.

Additional Resources