Back 

Webinar Recent Trends in Sustainable State Transportation Funding and Spending

Webinar: Sustainable State Transportation Funding and Spending

4/29/2014
webinar graphic

NCSL Webinars allow attendees to participate in meetings taking place around the world from the comfort of their desk. They are collaborative, interactive and easy to use.

This webinar was recorded for those who were unable to attend the live meeting.

Sustainable State Transportation Funding and Spending Webinar

Thursday, April 24, 2014 | 2 p.m. ET/ 1 p.m. CT/  Noon MT/ 11 a.m. PT

As states finally emerge from the Great Recession, legislatures are seeing a dizzying amount of debate and efforts to catch up on transportation investments. In 2013 alone, six states and the District of Columbia enacted laws that are likely to increase gas taxes, and nearly all of them moved towards tax approaches that track with inflation or gas prices. But the gas tax wasn’t where all the action was. States also looked at mileage-based fees, creative financing, local flexibility, and smart spending. This year is shaping up to be just as active, with bills under consideration in at least 35 states so far.

In this interactive webinar, experts share big-picture trends and the ever-important details of recent state efforts to keep transportation budgets sustainable and transparent into the future.

This webinar is graciously supported by Rockefeller Foundation’s funding on equitable, sustainable transportation.

Note: due to technical difficulties, audio begins at 00:01:30 for the webinar.

view webinar

Speakers

  • Jaime Rall, program manager, National Conference of State Legislatures
  • Douglas Shinkle, program principal, National Conference of State Legislatures
    • Moderator
  • Eric Sundquist, managing director, State Smart Transportation Initiative

This webinar was part of NCSL’s ongoing Natural Resources and Infrastructure committee’s E-Learning Webinar Series. See here for more information and to register for other webinars.


System Requirements

PC-based attendees required: Windows® 8, 7, Vista, XP or 2003 Server
Mac®-based attendees required: Mac OS® X 10.6 or newer<
Mobile attendees required: iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phone or Android tablet

Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox

Denver

7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800

Washington

444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures