State Statutes Linking Driver’s Licenses to School Enrollment, Attendance, Academic Performance or Behavior

1/4/2018

Teen drivers.Twenty nine states have laws that link teen driver's licenses to school in some way either through enrollment, academic performance, or truancy. All of these laws have been passed in the last 25 years.

Kansas and Oregon have laws that link a student's driver's license to a student’s behavior at school, like fighting, causing bodily injury or drug offenses.

For statutory citations and more information see the chart below or click here to download the chart, “State Statutes Linking Driver’s Licenses to School Enrollment, Attendance, Academic Performance, or Behavior.”

The box allows you to conduct a full text search or type the state name.

State Statutes Linking Driver’s Licenses to School Attendance
STATE | JURISDICTION REQUIREMENTS

Alabama

Ala. Code 16-28-40. Requires diploma or other certificate of graduation issued to the person from a secondary high school of this state or any other state, or documentation that the person: 1) is enrolled and making satisfactory progress in a course leading to a general educational development certificate (GED) or has obtained the certificate; 2) is enrolled in a secondary school of this state or any other state before a permit or license is issued.

Arkansas

Ark. Stat. Ann. 27-16-701.  Requires a diploma or its equivalent or regular attendance in school with a C average to obtain a permit or license.         

California

Cal. Vehicle Code 13202.7.  Habitual truants shall have their license suspended or be delayed in obtaining a license.

Delaware*

Del. Code Ann. Tit. 14, § 2730(c)(6)-(7). The Justice of the Peace Court may determine that a child is a truant and may suspend or revoke a student’s a driver's permit, work permit, driver’s license or hunting license. The student’s permit or license will only be reissued with the permission of the court.

Florida

Fla. Stat. 322.091.  Requires diploma or its equivalent or enrollment and attendance in school to obtain a permit or license.  A license suspension shall occur for failure to comply with these provisions.

Georgia

Ga. Code 40-5-22a.1.  Requires a diploma or its equivalent, or enrollment and attendance in school, to obtain a permit or license.  40-5-22 a.2. The Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend the license of a juvenile if he/she has not attended school for 10 consecutive days without permission.

Idaho

Idaho Code 49-303A.  Provides that no driver’s license may be issued to, or the driver’s license shall be suspended, for anyone under 18 years of age if the person is not enrolled in school.  Exceptions are allowed for those who have completed school or who qualify for a waiver.

Illinois

105 ILCS 5/27-24.2.  Students must receive a passing grade in at least eight courses during the previous two semesters before enrolling in a driver’s education course, or the student will not be allowed to enroll.  The superintendent may waive the requirement.  Driver’s education is required for a permit or license.

105 ILCS 5/26-3a. No graduated driver's license shall be issued to any applicant who is under 18 years, unless the applicant has graduated from a secondary school, is enrolled in a course leading to a GED, and is not a chronic or habitual truant as provided in Section 26-2a of the School Code.

Indiana

Ind. Code 20-8.1-3-17.2.  Habitual truants cannot receive a license until age 18.

Iowa

Iowa Code Annotated Title VII. Subtitle 6. Chapter 299. § 299.1B. A person who does not attend a public school, an accredited nonpublic school, competent private instruction, an alternative school, or adult education classes shall not receive an intermediate or full driver's license until age 18.

Kansas

Kan. Stat. Ann. § 72 -89c02. Provides a school administrator shall file a report with the DMV when the student has violated certain behavioral rules. Upon receipt of the notice, the division of vehicles shall suspend the pupil's driver's license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the streets and highways of this state. The duration of the suspension shall be for a period of one year.

Kentucky

Ky. Rev. Stat. 186.440. Requires a diploma or its equivalent or enrollment and successful participation in school to obtain a permit or license.

 

Ky. Rev. Stat. 159.051. When a student age 16 or 17 drops out of school or is declared to be academically deficient, the school administrator or designee shall notify the superintendent of schools of the district in which the student is a resident or is enrolled. A student shall be deemed to have dropped out of school when he or she has nine or more unexcused absences in the preceding semester. A student shall be deemed to be academically deficient when he has not received passing grades in at least four courses, or the equivalent of four  courses, in the preceding semester. The superintendent shall report the student's name and Social Security number to the Transportation Cabinet. As soon as possible thereafter, the cabinet shall notify the student that his or her operator's license, intermediate license, permit or privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been revoked or denied and shall inform the student of his or her right to a hearing.

Louisiana

L.R.S. 32:431.1. No minor may be issued a driver's license or learner's permit for the operation of a motor vehicle unless, at the time of application, documentation is presented to the department that the minor has received high school diploma or enrolled and is attending high school. No minor shall be issued a license or license or permit shall be suspended upon written notification from a school board that the minor is habitually absent or tardy. 

Maryland

Md. Transportation Code Ann. §16-105.  An instructional permit cannot be issued to an applicant under the age of 16 if the applicant's school attendance record indicates more than 10 unexcused absences during the previous school semester.

Mississippi

Miss. Code Ann.  63-1-9(1)(g).  Requires diploma or its equivalent or attendance and satisfactory progress in school for unmarried people under age 18 to receive a driver’s license

New Mexico*

N.M. ADMIN. CODE tit. 6, § 10.8.8(B). The children's court can order a habitual truant's driving privileges suspended for a specified time not to exceed 90 days on the first finding of habitual truancy and not to exceed one year for a subsequent finding of habitual truancy.

Nevada

Nev. Rev. Stat. 62E.430. If a child is adjudicated by the Juvenile Court as a habitual truant and if the child is age 14 or over, the Juvenile Court must order the student's driving privileges to be suspended for a specified time of at least 30 days but not more than six months. If the child does not possess a driver’s license, the juvenile court must prohibit the child from applying for a driver’s license for 30 days.

North Carolina

N.C. Gen. Stat. 20-11 and 20-13.2.  Requires school attendance and progress toward a diploma or its equivalent to obtain a driving eligibility certificate. Exceptions include substantial hardship if denied a certificate. The school authority must notify the division if the student no longer meets the criteria for a driver eligibility certificate.

Ohio

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. 4510.32.  Suspends or denies a permit or license when a student drops out of school. Requires notice to the DMV when the student drops out.

Oklahoma

Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 6, §103.  Requires the Department of Public Safety to deny a request for a driver’s license to any person under 18 years of age who is not, at the time of application: a student at a school; in possession of a diploma or certificate of completion; enrolled and making satisfactory progress in a program leading to a Certificate of High School Equivalency; or excused pursuant to a lawful excuse.

Oregon*

Or. Rev. Stat. § 339.254. Provides a school district board may establish a policy regarding when a school superintendent or the board may file with the Department of Transportation a written request to suspend the driving privileges if the student has violated certain behavioral rules.

Pennsylvania

24 PS 13-1338.1.  The department shall suspend or delay a license for truancy. A child whose driving privileges have been suspended may have eligibility restored by presenting a form certifying that the child has: attended school for at least two months after the first conviction or four months after the second conviction without an unexcused absence or tardy; is exempted from compulsory attendance; or graduates, withdraws from school pursuant to compulsory attendance requirements, receives a GED, or enlists in the military.  

Rhode Island

2004 Public Law: 105 and 167 amended R.I.G.L.  § 14-1-32.  Gives the power to the Juvenile Court to weigh the relative benefits of the juvenile retaining or losing driving privileges.  The court may deny, revoke, suspend and/or reinstate a juvenile’s driving privileges including both the learning license and/or driver’s license of any juvenile deemed wayward as a result of the family court finding the child truant pursuant to chapter 19 of title 16 and/or wayward/delinquent.

South Carolina

S.C. Code Ann. §56-1-176. The Department of Motor Vehicles may not issue a conditional driver's license or a special restricted driver's license to a person unless the person: has a high school diploma or certificate, or a General Education Development Certificate; or is enrolled in a public or private school or is home schooled.  Documentation of enrollment status must be presented to the department by the applicant on a form approved by the department.

Tennessee

Tenn. Code Ann. 49-6-3017.  Requires a diploma or its equivalent or that students be enrolled and making satisfactory progress in school to obtain a permit or license.  Revokes driver license if student drops out or fails to maintain satisfactory academic progress in school. 

Texas

Tex. Transportation Code Ann. 521.204.  Requires a diploma or its equivalent or school enrollment to obtain a permit or license.

Virginia

Va. Code 46.2-334, 335 and 16.1-278.9.  Requires a diploma or its equivalent or compliance with the compulsory school attendance law to obtain a permit or license.

West Virginia

W. Va. Code 18-8-11.  Requires a diploma or its equivalent or enrollment and good standing in school to obtain a permit or license.  The superintendent of schools is required to report dropouts to the DMV for license suspension.

Wisconsin

Wis. Stat.  118.163.  Requires license suspension for habitual truants.

*Statute or rule provides as an option to the court but not a requirement.

Source: NCSL 2011, Updated Jan. 2018.