State Coordinating Councils Overview and Profiles

State Human Service Transportation Coordinating Councils: An Overview and State Profiles

State Human Service Transportation Coordinating Councils Profiles


NCSL Contact

Amelia Myers

TBus for seniorshe intergovernmental landscape of transportation provision is complex and fragmented. By one estimate, some 44,000 levels of government are involved in providing or funding transportation, plus thousands of non-profit agencies, private companies and individuals.  This has resulted in a lack of consistency in approaches, service duplication in some places, and unconnected services in others.  Many who need transportation are left unserved or underserved.

To better coordinate human services transportation activities, as of January 2015, at least 20 states and the Northern Mariana Islands had created state-level coordinating councils. Coordinating councils are created in recognition of the complex governing structures that have arisen over time to help various populations access transportation.  By facilitating cooperation among different state agencies and stakeholder groups, coordination can enhance transportation services to those in need and use public resources more efficiently, particularly in times of tight budgets. 

The documents listed on this page provide an overview of state coordinating councils, as well as in-depth profiles of coordination activities and councils in Florida, Iowa, Kentucky, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin.  These publications were made possible by generous funding support from the Federal Transit Administration and the U.S. Department of Labor.

pdf logoTo view PDF files, you must install Adobe Acrobat Reader.


Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox


7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800


444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2015 by National Conference of State Legislatures