State Earned Income Tax Credits

State Earned Income Tax Credits (EITC) Interactive Map


An earned income tax credit (EITC) is designed to help low-to-moderate-income working people get ahead. Twenty-five states and the District of Columbia have earned income tax credits. Like the federal EITC, individuals must file a tax return in order to claim a state EITC.

Hover over the map to find out the percentage of each state EITC and whether or not it is refundable.


Additional Resources:

NCSL Contact
Qiana Torres Flores

Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox


7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800


444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2014 by National Conference of State Legislatures