right to work laws

Right-To-Work Laws

By Jeanne Mejeur Vol . 20, No. 20 / May 2012

General Information

Member Reminder: You must login first to get your free copy.

Twenty-three states have right-to-work laws.

The heated legislative battles over collective bargaining in the last two years have rekindled interest in right-to-work laws. Right to work means workers can work for their employer without having to join a labor union.  

States have the authority to determine whether workers can be required to join a labor union to get or keep a job. So far, 23 states and Guam have given workers a choice when it comes to union membership. Labor unions still operate in those states, but workers cannot be compelled to become members as a requirement of their job.

Right-to-Work Resource Page


Read more ... Order and download the PDF now.


Share this: 
We are the nation's most respected bipartisan organization providing states support, ideas, connections and a strong voice on Capitol Hill.

NCSL Member Toolbox


7700 East First Place
Denver, CO 80230
Tel: 303-364-7700 | Fax: 303-364-7800


444 North Capitol Street, N.W., Suite 515
Washington, D.C. 20001
Tel: 202-624-5400 | Fax: 202-737-1069

Copyright 2015 by National Conference of State Legislatures