2014 Minimum Wage Ballot Measures

11/6/2014

Minimum wage ballot measures were certified to appear on the November ballots in five states.  The measures in all five states were approved by voters.

The Illinois measure is an advisory question posed to the voters by the Illinois General Assembly, asking if the minimum wage should be raised. The measures in Alaska, Arkansas, Nebraska and South Dakota are all citizen initiatives that would amend state statutes to provide for minimum wage increases. The South Dakota measure, if approved, would also increase tipped wages.

State

Measure/Type

Details

Alaska

Ballot Measure 3

  • Initiative to amend state statutes

Proposes a two-step increase to the state’s minimum wage, which is currently $7.75. Would increase to $8.75 effective Jan. 1, 2015, and to $9.75 effective Jan. 1, 2016. In subsequent years, the state minimum wage would be automatically adjusted based on inflation or remain $1 higher than the federal minimum wage, whichever is greater.  (Passed - Yes votes: 68.7% unofficial)

 

Arkansas

Initiative 5

  • Initiative to amend state statutes

Proposes a three-step increase to the state’s minimum wage: to $7.50 effective Jan. 1, 2015, to $8 effective Jan. 1, 2016, and to $8.50 effective Jan. 1, 2017.  (Passed - Yes votes: 65.7% unofficial)

 

Illinois

Minimum Wage Increase Referendum Act

  • Legislative Referral

The measure is an advisory question put on the ballot by the legislature. It asks voters whether they support increasing the state minimum wage to $10 by Jan. 1, 2015.  (Passed - Yes votes: 66.8% unofficial)

 

Nebraska

Initiative 425

  • Initiative to amend state statutes

Proposes a two-step increase in the state’s minimum wage: to $8 effective Jan. 1, 2015 and to $9 effective Jan. 1, 2016.  (Passed - Yes votes: 59.2% unofficial)

South Dakota

Initiated Measure 18

  • Initiative to amend state statutes

Proposes to increase the state’s minimum wage to $8.50 effective Jan. 1, 2015, and provides for automatic annual increases in subsequent years, based on inflation. The measure also includes a raise to the state’s tip credit, from $2.13 to $4.25.  (Passed - Yes votes: 54.0% unofficial)

 

Sources: Ballotpedia, state web sites, news reports.